The Resource The devil's dictionary, Steven Kotler

The devil's dictionary, Steven Kotler

Label
The devil's dictionary
Title
The devil's dictionary
Statement of responsibility
Steven Kotler
Title variation
devils dictionary
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"New York Times bestselling author Steven Kotler's follow up to Last Tango, a near-future thriller about the evolution of empathy in the tradition of William Gibson and Neal Stephenson. Hard to say when the human species fractured exactly. Harder to say when this new talent arrived. But Lion Zorn, protagonist of Last Tango, is the first of his kind-an empathy tracker, an emotional soothsayer, with a felt sense for the future of the we. In simpler terms, he can spot cultural shifts and trends before they happen. The Devil's Dictionary finds Lion Zorn enmeshed with a strange subculture: polyamorous crypto-currency fiends with a tendency toward eco-terrorism. These crypto-eco-punks have executed the largest land grab in U.S. history, buying up huge swatches of the American west to establish the world's first mega-linkage. This unbroken tract of wild lands stretching from Yellowstone to Yukon is meant to protect biodiversity and stave off the Sixth Great Extinction, but something's rotten in Eden. Instead of saving existing species, exotic creatures unlike anything seen on Earth keep turning up. Called in to track down the origin of these exotics, Lion quickly finds himself entangled in a battle for the survival of our species"--
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
11050430
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1967-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kotler, Steven
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Cryptocurrencies
  • Corridors (Ecology)
  • Ecological reserves
  • Animals, Mythical
  • Animals, Mythical
  • Corridors (Ecology)
  • Cryptocurrencies
  • Ecological reserves
Label
The devil's dictionary, Steven Kotler
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1184234838
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
336 pages
Isbn
9781250202093
Lccn
2021027554
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1184234838
Label
The devil's dictionary, Steven Kotler
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1184234838
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
336 pages
Isbn
9781250202093
Lccn
2021027554
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1184234838

Library Locations

    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Pleasant Hill BranchBorrow it
      211 E. William Cannon Blvd., Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.1922461 -97.7771661
    • Southeast BranchBorrow it
      5803 Nuckols Crossing Rd., Austin, TX, 78744, US
      30.1876256 -97.7419319
    • University Hills BranchBorrow it
      4701 Loyola Ln., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3093017 -97.6664785