Coverart for item
The Resource Unwrapped Sky, Rjurik Davidson

Unwrapped Sky, Rjurik Davidson

Label
Unwrapped Sky
Title
Unwrapped Sky
Statement of responsibility
Rjurik Davidson
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A hundred years ago, the Minotaurs saved Caeli-Amur from conquest. Now, three very different people may hold the keys to the city's survival. Once, it is said, gods used magic to create reality, with powers that defied explanation. But the magic--or science, if one believes those who try to master the dangers of thaumaturgy--now seems more like a dream. Industrial workers for House Technis, farmers for House Arbor, and fisher folk of House Marin eke out a living and hope for a better future. But the philosopher-assassin Kata plots a betrayal that will cost the lives of godlike Minotaurs; the ambitious bureaucrat Boris Autec rises through the ranks as his private life turns to ashes; and the idealistic seditionist Maximilian hatches a mad plot to unlock the vaunted secrets of the Great Library of Caeli-Enas, drowned in the fabled city at the bottom of the sea, its strangeness visible from the skies above. These three people, reflecting all the hopes and dreams of the ancient city, risk everything for a future that they can create only by throwing off the shackles of tradition and superstition, as their destinies collide at ground zero of a conflagration that will transform the world ... or destroy it
Member of
Summary
First introduced in author Rjurik Davidson's short story collection The Library of Forgotten Books, the city-state of Caeli-Amur has experienced a steady decline since its technological heyday a century ago. Rival factions vie for wealth and power as Minotaurs roam the streets, the insectoid Elo-Talern operate behind the scenes, and civil unrest threatens to erupt into violence. When philosopher-assassin Kata receives her assignment to spy on the members of a revolutionary group, she views it as an opportunity to gain her long-desired freedom. Then she meets thaumaturgist Maximilian, who plans to use information from the Great Library of the sunken city of Caeli-Enas to overthrow the ruling classes and restore the peoples' rights. This debut's meticulous world-building and New Weird ambiance may appeal to fans of Jeff Vandermeer's Ambergris Cycle or China MiƩville's Bas-Lag novels. -- Description by Gillian Speace
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10302129
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Davidson, Rjurik
Dewey number
823/.92
Illustrations
maps
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Caeli-Amur
Series volume
bk. 1
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Civilization, Ancient
  • Science, Ancient
  • Imaginary places
  • Fantasy fiction
  • Civilization, Ancient
  • Fantasy fiction
  • Imaginary places
  • Science, Ancient
Target audience
adult
Label
Unwrapped Sky, Rjurik Davidson
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"A Tom Doherty Associates Book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn851572864
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
430 pages
Isbn
9780765329882
Lccn
2013026603
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
map
System control number
(OCoLC)851572864
Label
Unwrapped Sky, Rjurik Davidson
Publication
Note
"A Tom Doherty Associates Book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn851572864
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
430 pages
Isbn
9780765329882
Lccn
2013026603
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
map
System control number
(OCoLC)851572864

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Cepeda BranchBorrow it
      651 N. Pleasant Valley Rd., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2590471 -97.7088905
    • Little Walnut Creek BranchBorrow it
      835 W. Rundberg Lane, Austin, TX, 78758, US
      30.3632362 -97.6984619
Processing Feedback ...