Coverart for item
The Resource To burgundy and back again : a tale of wine, France, and brotherhood, Roy Cloud

To burgundy and back again : a tale of wine, France, and brotherhood, Roy Cloud

Label
To burgundy and back again : a tale of wine, France, and brotherhood
Title
To burgundy and back again
Title remainder
a tale of wine, France, and brotherhood
Statement of responsibility
Roy Cloud
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Roy Cloud had worked in the wine business for years, watching it transform from a retail backwater to a mainstream fixation, with a huge influx of consumers looking for wine with terroir. By a twist of fate, he found himself on a hurriedly arranged trip to France to persuade small-scale winemakers that he should represent their interests in the growing U.S. import market. While Roy's palate would be challenged in finding the hidden gems of the Loire and Burgundy, his real dilemma was this: He didn't speak a word of French. Enter Joe, Roy's older brother. Different from Roy in every respect, Joe had studied in France and was fluent in the language-and, most importantly, he was free to join Roy in his search. It was simple: Roy would do the tasting, and Joe would do the talking. What could go wrong? In To Burgundy and Back Again, Roy presents a richly evocative account of their journey-one replete with discovery, adventure, and poignant surprises. Written in the tradition of A Year in Provence and Sideways, this elegantly penned book will delight wine lovers and armchair travelers alike"--
Summary
"Roy Cloud had worked in the wine business for years, watching it transform from a retail backwater to a mainstream fixation, with a huge influx of consumers looking for wine with terroir. By a twist of fate, he found himself on a hurriedly arranged tripto France to persuade small-scale winemakers that he should represent their interests in the growing U.S. import market. While Roy's palate would be challenged in finding the hidden gems of the Loire and Burgundy, his real dilemma was this: He didn't speak a word of French. Enter Joe, Roy's older brother. Different from Roy in every respect, Joe had studied in France and was fluent in the language-and, most importantly, he was free to join Roy in his search. It was simple: Roy would do the tasting, and Joe would do the talking. What could go wrong? In To Burgundy and Back Again, Roy presents a richly evocative account of their journey-one replete with discovery, adventure, and poignant surprises. Written in the tradition of A Year in Provence and Sideways, this elegantly penned book will delight wine lovers and armchair travelers alike"--
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10009886
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cloud, Roy
Dewey number
641.220944
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Wine and wine making
  • Terroir
  • Wine districts
  • Cloud, Roy
  • Cloud, Joe
  • France
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a tale of wine, France, and brotherhood
Label
To burgundy and back again : a tale of wine, France, and brotherhood, Roy Cloud
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
2011005423
Extent
p. cm.
Isbn
9780762764556
Lccn
2011005423
Label
To burgundy and back again : a tale of wine, France, and brotherhood, Roy Cloud
Publication
Control code
2011005423
Extent
p. cm.
Isbn
9780762764556
Lccn
2011005423

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
Processing Feedback ...