Coverart for item
The Resource Three and out : Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the crucible of college football, John U. Bacon

Three and out : Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the crucible of college football, John U. Bacon

Label
Three and out : Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the crucible of college football
Title
Three and out
Title remainder
Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the crucible of college football
Statement of responsibility
John U. Bacon
Title variation
3 and out
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"The national spotlight never strays from the University of Michigan football team. More people have seen the Wolverines play football--in person and on TV--than any other team in the nation. Michigan boasts the most wins, the best winning percentage, the biggest stadium, the most alumni, the most heated rivalries, and the richest tradition in the game. As their famed fight song proclaims, the Wolverines are "Victors valiant. conqu'ring heroes." Or they were, until 2008. The brilliant but star-crossed Rich Rodriguez led the young Wolverines through three of the program's toughest seasons. With the entire sports world watching, they enjoyed thrilling victories and suffered heartbreaking losses, often falling short in the winner-take-all struggle of big-time college football. Day after day for three years, John U. Bacon watched the drama unfold, from the sidelines to the locker room to the meeting rooms and even the homes of the players and coaches. No sportswriter has ever been granted more intimate access to a top-flight college football program. Now Bacon--an award-winning journalist and coauthor of Bo's Lasting Lessons--has written a narrative saga in the vein of Friday Night Lights and Season on the Brink. His story is one of hopes raised and dashed; of reputations pumped up, then punctured; and of coaches and youngsters striving to satisfy the demands of a culture that values winning above all else"--
Summary
Traces the challenges faced by the University of Michigan football team after 2008, drawing on interviews with players and coaches to offer insight into topics ranging from their most heated rivalries and heartbreaking defeats to the pivotal contributions of Rich Rodriguez and the winner-take-all culture that has dominated their efforts
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
contains biographical information
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10025506
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1964-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bacon, John U.
Dewey number
796.332
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Rodriguez, Rich
  • Football coaches
  • University of Michigan
  • Michigan Wolverines (Football team)
  • SPORTS & RECREATION / Coaching / Football
  • SPORTS & RECREATION / Football
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the crucible of college football
Label
Three and out : Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the crucible of college football, John U. Bacon
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers/1388/2456093/image/lgcover.9780809094660.jpg
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
ocn706020957
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
viii, 438 p.
Isbn
9780809094660
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2011022040
System control number
(OCoLC)706020957
Label
Three and out : Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the crucible of college football, John U. Bacon
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers/1388/2456093/image/lgcover.9780809094660.jpg
Publication
Control code
ocn706020957
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
viii, 438 p.
Isbn
9780809094660
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2011022040
System control number
(OCoLC)706020957
Processing Feedback ...