Coverart for item
The Resource The trip to Echo Spring : on writers and drinking, Olivia Laing

The trip to Echo Spring : on writers and drinking, Olivia Laing

Label
The trip to Echo Spring : on writers and drinking
Title
The trip to Echo Spring
Title remainder
on writers and drinking
Statement of responsibility
Olivia Laing
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Laing examines the link between creativity and alcohol through the work and lives of six of America's finest writers
Summary
"In The Trip to Echo Spring, Olivia Laing examines the link between creativity and alcohol through the work and lives of six of America's finest writers: F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, John Berryman, John Cheever, and Raymond Carver. All six of these men were alcoholics, and the subject of drinking surfaces in some of their finest work, from Cat on a Hot Tin Roof to A Moveable Feast. Often, they did their drinking together: Hemingway and Fitzgerald ricocheting through the cafes of Paris in the 1920s; Carver and Cheever speeding to the liquor store in Iowa in the icy winter of 1973. Olivia Laing grew up in an alcoholic family herself. One spring, wanting to make sense of this ferocious, entangling disease, she took a journey across America that plunged her into the heart of these overlapping lives. As she travels from Cheever's New York to Williams's New Orleans, and from Hemingway's Key West to Carver's Port Angeles, she pieces together a topographical map of alcoholism, from the horrors of addiction to the miraculous possibilities of recovery. Beautiful, captivating, and original, The Trip to Echo Spring strips away the myth of the alcoholic writer to reveal the terrible price creativity can exert. - For readers of Amanda Vaill's When Everyone Was So Young, Elif Batuman's The Possessed, and Kingsley Amis's Everyday Drinking"--
Tone
Writing style
Award
  • LibraryReads Favorites, 2013
  • New York Times Notable Book, 2014
Biography type
contains biographical information
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10247033
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Laing, Olivia
Dewey number
810.9/353
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Authors, American
  • Creative ability
  • Alcoholics
  • Alcoholics in literature
  • Alcoholism in literature
  • Authorship
  • American literature
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Literary
  • HISTORY / Social History
  • PSYCHOLOGY / Creative Ability
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
on writers and drinking
Label
The trip to Echo Spring : on writers and drinking, Olivia Laing
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/569/9781250039569/image/lgcover.9781250039569.jpg
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Originally published: Great Britain : Canongate Books, 2013
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 321-331)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2013038323
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
340 pages
Isbn
9781250039569
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2013038323
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
illustrations, map
Label
The trip to Echo Spring : on writers and drinking, Olivia Laing
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/569/9781250039569/image/lgcover.9781250039569.jpg
Publication
Copyright
Note
Originally published: Great Britain : Canongate Books, 2013
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 321-331)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2013038323
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
340 pages
Isbn
9781250039569
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2013038323
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
illustrations, map

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Yarborough BranchBorrow it
      2200 Hancock Dr., Austin, TX, 78756, US
      30.3234684 -97.74072129999999
Processing Feedback ...