Coverart for item
The Resource The stolen child : a novel, Lisa Carey

The stolen child : a novel, Lisa Carey

Label
The stolen child : a novel
Title
The stolen child
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Lisa Carey
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "From the author of the critically acclaimed The Mermaids Singing comes a haunting, luminous novel set on an enchanted island off the west coast of Ireland where magic, faith, and superstition pervade the inhabitants' lives and tangled relationships--perfect for fans of Eowyn Ivey, Sarah Waters, and Angela Carter. May 1959. From one side of St. Brigid's Island, the mountains of Connemara can be glimpsed on the distant mainland; from the other, the Atlantic stretches as far as the eye can see. This remote settlement, without electricity or even a harbor, has scarcely altered since its namesake saint set up a convent of stone huts centuries ago. Those who live there, including sisters Rose and Emer, are hardy and resourceful, dependent on the sea and each other for survival. Despite the island's natural beauty, it is a place that people move away from, not to--until an outspoken American, also named Brigid, arrives to claim her late uncle's cottage. Brigid has come for more than an inheritance. She's seeking a secret holy well that's rumored to grant miracles. Emer, as scarred and wary as Rose is friendly and beautiful, has good reason to believe in inexplicable powers. Despite her own strange abilities--or perhaps because of them--Emer fears that she won't be able to save her young son, Niall, from a growing threat. Yet Brigid has a gift too, even more remarkable than Emer's. As months pass and Brigid carves out a place on the island and in the sisters' lives, a complicated web of betrayal, fear, and desire culminates in one shocking night that will change the island, and its inhabitants, forever"--
  • "From the author of the critically and commercially successful THE MERMAIDS SINGING, a novel about a community living on an enchanted island off the coast of Ireland that explores the town's heady brew of tangled relationships, distrust of strangers, dark magic, and superstition. Think THE SNOW CHILD as written by Sarah Waters or Angela Carter"--
Summary
"A novel about a community living on an enchanted island off the coast of Ireland that explores the town's heady brew of tangled relationships, distrust of strangers, dark magic, and superstition." -- Provided by publisher
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10545980
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Carey, Lisa
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • FICTION / Literary
  • FICTION / Historical
  • Americans
  • Inheritance and succession
  • Sisters
  • Superstition
  • Magic
  • Islands
  • Ireland
Target audience
adult
Label
The stolen child : a novel, Lisa Carey
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn950447500
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
373, 15 pages
Isbn
9780062492180
Lccn
2016032315
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)950447500
Label
The stolen child : a novel, Lisa Carey
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn950447500
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
373, 15 pages
Isbn
9780062492180
Lccn
2016032315
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)950447500

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Terrazas Branch Borrow it
      1105 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2599154 -97.7334621
    • Twin Oaks Branch Borrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
    • University Hills BranchBorrow it
      4701 Loyola Ln., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3093017 -97.6664785
Processing Feedback ...