The Resource The room of white fire : a novel, T. Jefferson Parker

The room of white fire : a novel, T. Jefferson Parker

Label
The room of white fire : a novel
Title
The room of white fire
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
T. Jefferson Parker
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For fans of Michael Connelly and C.J. Box: a stirring thriller from New York Times bestseller and award winner T. Jefferson Parker. In The Room of White Fire, a P.I. must hunt down a soldier who is damaged by war, dangerous, and on the run. A young soldier escaped from a mental institution. A P.I. carrying his own wounds hired to track that soldier down. A race against the clock to bring the soldier home before he reveals the secret that haunts him. Roland Ford--once a cop, then a marine, now a private investigator--is good at finding people. But when he's asked to locate Air Force veteran Clay Hickman, he realizes he's been drawn into something deep and dark. He knows war, having served as a Marine in first Fallujah; he also knows personal pain, as only two years have passed since his wife, Justine, died. What he doesn't know is why a shroud of secrecy hangs over the disappearance of Clay Hickman--and why he's getting a different story from everyone involved. To begin with, there's Sequoia, the teenage woman who helped Clay escape; she's smart enough to fend off Ford's questions but impetuous enough to be on the run with an armed man. Then there's Paige Hulet, Clay's doctor, who clearly cares deeply for his welfare but is impossible to read, even as she inspires in Ford the first desire he has felt since his wife's death. And there's Briggs Spencer, the proprietor of the mental institution who is as enigmatic as he is brash, and ambitious to the point of being ruthless. What could Clay possibly know to make this search so desperate? What began as just a job becomes a life-or-death obsession for Ford, pitting him against immensely powerful and treacherous people and forcing him to contend with chilling questions about truth, justice, and the American way
Member of
Summary
A Marine-turned-private investigator struggling from the recent death of his wife races against time to track down a shattered young soldier who has escaped from a mental institution and who possesses a dangerous secret
Tone
Writing style
Award
Shamus Award for Best P.I. Novel, 2018.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10567240
Cataloging source
PUL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Parker, T. Jefferson
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Roland Ford
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Private investigators
  • Missing persons
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Soldiers
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Missing persons
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Private investigators
  • Soldiers
  • Mystery fiction
Target audience
adult
Label
The room of white fire : a novel, T. Jefferson Parker
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Subtitle from jacket
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn965445824
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
341 pages
Isbn
9780735212664
Lccn
2016046698
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)965445824
Label
The room of white fire : a novel, T. Jefferson Parker
Publication
Copyright
Note
Subtitle from jacket
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn965445824
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
341 pages
Isbn
9780735212664
Lccn
2016046698
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)965445824

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Manchaca Road Branch Borrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • North Village Branch Borrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • Spicewood Springs Branch Borrow it
      8637 Spicewood Springs Rd., Austin, TX, 78759, US
      30.4337083 -97.7730809
Processing Feedback ...