The Resource The rapture index : a suburban bestiary, Molly Reid

The rapture index : a suburban bestiary, Molly Reid

Label
The rapture index : a suburban bestiary
Title
The rapture index
Title remainder
a suburban bestiary
Statement of responsibility
Molly Reid
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Loosely based on the medieval bestiary, The Rapture Index examines the relationship between animals, humans, and storytelling. Harnessing the bestiary's combination of religious parable, encyclopedia, and art, Molly Reid journeys deep into suburbia to reveal characters struggling to navigate desire and responsibility: the desire to indulge their baser instincts while still fulfilling the expectations of society and family. Filled with moments of curiosity, misunderstanding, fervor, and heart, these stories offer a new twist on familiar landscapes as they explore what happens in the places where the wilderness has been tamed when we try to deny our own animal nature"--
Member of
Tone
Character
Review
  • In this unforgettable collection of moralized fables, Reid brings the tradition of the medieval bestiary into a dozen modern narratives of suburbia. The stories are an obsidian version of hilarious, repeatedly juxtaposing human incompetence and animal violence within the tidy streets of a subdivision. The book includes both clear, formulaic bestiaries and longer stories of human relationships and families, with animals featured in the periphery. In one memorable story, a daughter with a penchant for the macabre discovers via Ouija board that her mother could have done more to save her father in the hour of his death. In another, the majority of a small town is murdered by the alligators they raised and released to solve a pesky beetle problem. In the titular tale, an elementary-school boy raised by agnostic parents manifests an obsession with religion and accurately predicts disaster in his regular contributions to an online journal called The Rapture Index. Thought-provoking, unthinkable, and fun, Reid’s debut is perfect for fans of David Lynch, Alissa Nutting, and George Saunders. -- Courtney Eathorne (Reviewed 3/15/2019) (Booklist, vol 115, number 14)
  • Animals are animals, and humans are animals too in Reid's imaginative debut collection of 13 stories and eight pieces of flash fiction (here called bestiaries). A bestiary is traditionally a tale about animals, usually offering a moral lesson. In Reid's fictional universe, animals are everywhere, but more often than not, they symbolize nothing. In "Happy You're Here," the collection's strong first story, a dead whale, washed up across from the hospital where the narrator's mother is dying, is reduced to a sad spectacle. People come with picnic baskets in anticipation of the body being blown up and, later, hack it to pieces. The story's final image—"flying blubber like falling stars"—is both poignant and hilarious. Elsewhere, we see her characters' misguided attempts to make everything in the natural world reflect human matters. "Summer People" features Shasta, a newlywed whose life feels claustrophobic. When she frees her creepy neighbor's parrots because "it felt good, like she was doing something good," she realizes too late that she's done the birds no favors. In "Anatomy Is Destiny," a woman on a sexy weekend with her lover becomes convinced that hummingbirds are talking to her instead of owning her own discomfort with her icky boyfriend. In fact, most animals are utterly indifferent to human concerns, as Reid shows in many of her darkly comic bestiaries. The real beasts in these magical stories are, of course, humans: creatures of lust and cruelty, deception and selfishness. But Reid, to her great credit, doesn't resort to cynicism. In the collection's strongest stories ("The Permutations of A," "Adventures in Wildlife," and "The Rapture Index"), Reid reveals a talent for discovering the humanity of her flawed human characters. Promising work from a writer interested in all creatures, great and small. (Kirkus Reviews, March 1, 2019)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Awards note
Winner, The BOA Short Fiction Prize
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10779086
Cataloging source
PUL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Reid, Molly
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
short stories
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
American reader series
Series volume
no. 32
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Human-animal relationships
  • Suburbs
  • Human-animal relationships
  • Suburbs
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a suburban bestiary
Label
The rapture index : a suburban bestiary, Molly Reid
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Includes index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Bestiary IV: Steller's jay
  • Apocalypso
  • Bestiary V: chimney swifts
  • 3d printing: a love story
  • Summer people
  • Bestiary VI: one hamster
  • Adventures in wildlife
  • Fall from grace
  • All men
  • The rapture index
  • Happy you're here
  • Bestiary VII: laundromat bobcat
  • Come closer
  • Bestiary VIII: the alligators
  • Bestiary I: the neighbor's bees
  • The permutations of A
  • Bestiary II: suburban fox
  • Dog story
  • Bestiary III: attic raccoon
  • The first location
  • Anatomy is destiny
Control code
on1050599488
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
222 pages
Isbn
9781942683827
Lccn
2018050145
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1050599488
Label
The rapture index : a suburban bestiary, Molly Reid
Publication
Copyright
Note
Includes index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Bestiary IV: Steller's jay
  • Apocalypso
  • Bestiary V: chimney swifts
  • 3d printing: a love story
  • Summer people
  • Bestiary VI: one hamster
  • Adventures in wildlife
  • Fall from grace
  • All men
  • The rapture index
  • Happy you're here
  • Bestiary VII: laundromat bobcat
  • Come closer
  • Bestiary VIII: the alligators
  • Bestiary I: the neighbor's bees
  • The permutations of A
  • Bestiary II: suburban fox
  • Dog story
  • Bestiary III: attic raccoon
  • The first location
  • Anatomy is destiny
Control code
on1050599488
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
222 pages
Isbn
9781942683827
Lccn
2018050145
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1050599488

Library Locations

    • Carver BranchBorrow it
      1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2695584 -97.7240278
    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Little Walnut Creek BranchBorrow it
      835 W. Rundberg Lane, Austin, TX, 78758, US
      30.3632362 -97.6984619
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • Southeast BranchBorrow it
      5803 Nuckols Crossing Rd., Austin, TX, 78744, US
      30.1876256 -97.7419319
    • Terrazas BranchBorrow it
      1105 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2599154 -97.7334621
Processing Feedback ...