Coverart for item
The Resource The poppy wife : a novel of the Great War, Caroline Scott

The poppy wife : a novel of the Great War, Caroline Scott

Label
The poppy wife : a novel of the Great War
Title
The poppy wife
Title remainder
a novel of the Great War
Statement of responsibility
Caroline Scott
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A sweeping tale of forbidden love, true loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I, The poppy wife is an unforgettable debut novel for fans of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor"--
Member of
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • British historian Scott debuts with an unsettling close-up take on the staggering losses to a family shattered by a 1917 Western Front conflict that left “eight thousand nameless men” on the battlefield. Scott zeroes in on British woman Edie, whose husband, Francis, never came home, and the missing soldier’s younger brother Harry, who is haunted by memories of holding his wounded brother in his arms and the last words they spoke. When Edie gets a picture of Francis in the mail in 1921, she questions if he could still be alive and sets out with Harry to find him—or his grave—in France. Scott pinballs this two-part odyssey between 1917, as Harry, Francis, and their youngest brother, Will, who falls first on the battlefield, change from swaggering soldiers to haggard war veterans, and 1921, when Edie and Harry close in on the grim search for answers to Francis’s fate. “Oh, these men and their memories. It’s really not over for so many of them yet, is it?” one woman warns Edie in the disturbing resolution. Scott’s bold novel, inspired by her own family history, is instantly appealing for historical fiction fans. But the timeless story of love, loyalty, and honor will have appeal for readers of all interests. (Oct.)
			 --Staff (Reviewed 08/19/2019) (Publishers Weekly, vol 266, issue 33, p)
  • /* Starred Review */ DEBUT Edie Blythe's husband had been declared missing and presumed killed in action in 1917. So when an envelope with a smudged postmark containing a picture of him and no explanatory letter shows up in her mailbox four years later, Edie is afraid to hope that he might be alive. What is there to do but follow the multitudes of others searching for their loved ones in the desolation of France after the war? Edie does have the help of her brother-in-law Harry, who is on the battlefields photographing graves for loved ones mourning at home, but he is scarred physically and mentally by the conflict and may not be the best guide. Can he trust his memory, or his feelings as, like so many others in the mass confusion and disruption following World War I, he searches for clues of lost loved ones among the rubble and destruction? VERDICT British historian Scott's first novel is a beautifully evocative reminder of what it means to come back from war and to face the age-old question of whether it is better to have survived or to have died. Highly recommended. --Cynthia Johnson (Reviewed 10/01/2019) (Library Journal, vol 144, issue 9, p90)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10825393
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Scott, Caroline
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6119.C66
LC item number
P67 2019
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • World War, 1914-1918
  • Soldiers
  • Brothers
  • War widows
  • Photographers
  • Soldiers' bodies, Disposition of
  • Cemeteries
  • Soldiers' monumnets
  • Great Britain
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a novel of the Great War
Label
The poppy wife : a novel of the Great War, Caroline Scott
Instantiates
Publication
Note
  • "Originally published as The photographer of the lost in the United Kingdom in 2019 by Simon & Schuster UK"--Copyright page
  • Includes reader's extras
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2019013072
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
423, 11 pages
Isbn
9780062955326
Lccn
2019013072
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1091299277
Label
The poppy wife : a novel of the Great War, Caroline Scott
Publication
Note
  • "Originally published as The photographer of the lost in the United Kingdom in 2019 by Simon & Schuster UK"--Copyright page
  • Includes reader's extras
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2019013072
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
423, 11 pages
Isbn
9780062955326
Lccn
2019013072
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1091299277

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • North Village BranchBorrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • Southeast BranchBorrow it
      5803 Nuckols Crossing Rd., Austin, TX, 78744, US
      30.1876256 -97.7419319
Processing Feedback ...