Coverart for item
The Resource The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory, 1942-1943, Chil Rajchman ; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld

The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory, 1942-1943, Chil Rajchman ; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld

Label
The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory, 1942-1943
Title
The last Jew of Treblinka
Title remainder
a survivor's memory, 1942-1943
Statement of responsibility
Chil Rajchman ; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • yid
  • eng
Summary
Why do some live while so many others perish? Tiny children, old men, beautiful girls; in the gas chambers of Treblinka, all are equal. The Nazis kept the fires of Treblinka burning night and day, a central cog in the wheel of the Final Solution. There was no pretense of work here like in Auschwitz or Birkenau, only a train platform and a road covered with sand. A road that led only to death. But not for the author, a young man who survived working as a "barber" and "dentist," heartsick with witnessing atrocity after atrocity. Yet he managed to survive so that somehow he could tell the world what he had seen. How he found the dress of his little sister abandoned in the woods. How he was forced to extract gold teeth from the corpses. How every night he had to cover the body pits with sand. How every morning the blood of thousands still rose to the surface. Many have courageously told their stories, and in the tradition of Elie Wiesel's "Night" and Primo Levi's "Survival at Auschwitz" and "The Drowned andthe Saved," the author provides the only survivor's record of Treblinka. Originally written in Yiddish in 1945 without hope or agenda other than to bear witness, this tale shows that sometimes the bravest and most painful act of all is to remember
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
381347
Cataloging source
TnLvILS
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Rajchman, Chil
Dewey number
940.53174384092
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
no index present
Language note
Translated from the Yiddish
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1934-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Beinfeld, Solon
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Rajchman, Chil
  • Treblinka (Concentration camp)
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
Target audience
adult
Label
The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory, 1942-1943, Chil Rajchman ; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Originally published as Treblinka by MacLehose (London) in 2010
Control code
in900485496
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
1st Pegasus Books cloth ed.
Extent
xx, 138 p.
Isbn
9781605981390
Other physical details
ill., map
Label
The last Jew of Treblinka : a survivor's memory, 1942-1943, Chil Rajchman ; translated from the Yiddish by Solon Beinfeld
Publication
Note
Originally published as Treblinka by MacLehose (London) in 2010
Control code
in900485496
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
1st Pegasus Books cloth ed.
Extent
xx, 138 p.
Isbn
9781605981390
Other physical details
ill., map

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
Processing Feedback ...