Coverart for item
The Resource The education of Will : a mutual memoir of a woman and her dog, Patricia B. McConnell

The education of Will : a mutual memoir of a woman and her dog, Patricia B. McConnell

Label
The education of Will : a mutual memoir of a woman and her dog
Title
The education of Will
Title remainder
a mutual memoir of a woman and her dog
Statement of responsibility
Patricia B. McConnell
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will. World-renowned as a source of science and soul, Patricia McConnell combines brilliant insights into canine behavior--gained from her work with aggressive and fearful dogs--with heartwarming stories of her own dogs and their life on the farm. Now, she reveals that it wasn't just the dogs who had serious problems. For decades Dr. McConnell secretly grappled with her own guilt and fear, which were rooted in the harrowing traumas of her youth. Patricia is forced to face her past by her love for a young Border Collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake Patricia to her core. In order to save Will from this dangerous behavior, she must find her own will to heal, and along the way learn that will power by itself is not enough. Interweaving enlightening stories of her clients' dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will, Patricia recounts her fight to reclaim her life. Hopeful and inspiring, the redemptive message of her journey is that, while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing, for both people and dogs, is possible through hard work, compassion, and mutual devotion
Summary
An animal behaviorist recounts the story of how in order to help a troubled dog she was compelled to revisit painful memories about her own past in order to gain understanding into the impact of trauma on the brain
Tone
Biography type
contains biographical information
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10554411
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
McConnell, Patricia B
Dewey number
636.7/089689142
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • McConnell, Patricia B
  • McConnell, Patricia B
  • Dogs
  • Dogs
  • Dog owners
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
  • Human-animal relationships
  • Dog owners
  • Dogs
  • Dogs
  • Human-animal relationships
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a mutual memoir of a woman and her dog
Label
The education of Will : a mutual memoir of a woman and her dog, Patricia B. McConnell
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1738800
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
x, 270 pages
Isbn
9781501150159
Lccn
2016029198
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781501150159
  • (OCoLC)952648099
Label
The education of Will : a mutual memoir of a woman and her dog, Patricia B. McConnell
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1738800
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
x, 270 pages
Isbn
9781501150159
Lccn
2016029198
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781501150159
  • (OCoLC)952648099

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • Old Quarry BranchBorrow it
      7051 Village Center Dr., Austin, TX, 78731, US
      30.3529975 -97.7551561
    • Yarborough BranchBorrow it
      2200 Hancock Dr., Austin, TX, 78756, US
      30.3234684 -97.74072129999999
Processing Feedback ...