Coverart for item
The Resource The diplomat's daughter : a novel, Karin Tanabe

The diplomat's daughter : a novel, Karin Tanabe

Label
The diplomat's daughter : a novel
Title
The diplomat's daughter
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Karin Tanabe
Title variation
diplomats daughter
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and Orphan Train, the author of the "thought-provoking" (Library Journal, starred review) and "must-read" (PopSugar) novel The Gilded Years crafts a captivating tale of three young people divided by the horrors of World War II and their journey back to one another. During the turbulent months following the 1941 bombing of Pearl Harbor, twenty-one-year-old Emi Kato, the daughter of a Japanese diplomat, is locked behind barbed wire in a Texas interment camp, the victim of misfortune and America's new policies of fear. Plagued by fence sickness, her world changes when she meets Christian Lange, whose German-born parents were wrongfully arrested for un-American activities. Together, they live as prisoners with thousands of other German and Japanese families, but discover that young love can triumph over even the most unjust circumstances. When Emi and her mother are abruptly sent back to Japan, Christian enlists in the US Army, with his sights set on the Pacific front--and a reunion with Emi. Sent away for her safety, Emi lives out the war in a Japanese resort town where many in the foreign community have fled, including both Jews and Nazis. When she overhears a German officer boasting of the men he has murdered in Asia, fate brings Emi back to Leo Hartmann, the son of prominent Austrian Jews, now a refugee in Shanghai--her oldest friend and her first love. Fearing for his life, Emi is determined to find Leo. But will Christian's devotion be strong enough to stop her? Hurtled together by war, passion, and extraordinary acts of selflessness, the paths of these three remarkable young people collide as the fighting on the Pacific front crescendos. With her "elegant and extremely gratifying" (USA TODAY) storytelling, Tanabe paints a stunning portrait of a turning point in history"--
Summary
A Japanese-American woman and a German-American man in a World War II internment camp fall in love before one is extradited and the other enlists in the U.S. Army in the hopes that a Pacific assignment will enable their reunion, a situation that is complicated by her first love and the realities of war
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10570651
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Tanabe, Karin
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • World War (1939-1945)
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Man-woman relationships
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Man-woman relationships
Target audience
adult
Label
The diplomat's daughter : a novel, Karin Tanabe
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn961005756
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.
Extent
451 pages
Isbn
9781501110474
Lccn
2017006862
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)961005756
Label
The diplomat's daughter : a novel, Karin Tanabe
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn961005756
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First Washington Square Press trade paperback edition.
Extent
451 pages
Isbn
9781501110474
Lccn
2017006862
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)961005756

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • North Village Branch Borrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
Processing Feedback ...