Coverart for item
The Resource The captain's daughter : a novel, Meg Mitchell Moore

The captain's daughter : a novel, Meg Mitchell Moore

Label
The captain's daughter : a novel
Title
The captain's daughter
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Meg Mitchell Moore
Title variation
captains daughter
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she'd leave that life behind. Now that she's married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift. When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father's situation is more dire than he let on. Eliza's homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love--and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a seventeen-year-old local who is at her own crossroad, and Eliza can't help but wonder what her life would have been like if she'd stayed. Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, THE CAPTAIN'S DAUGHTER is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath"--
Summary
The daughter of a widowed lobsterman returns to her hometown in coastal Maine when her father is seriously injured, a visit that reunites her with a former love and forces her to consider the life she might have led
Storyline
Tone
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10563471
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Moore, Meg Mitchell
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Fathers and daughters
  • Maine
Target audience
adult
Label
The captain's daughter : a novel, Meg Mitchell Moore
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn961249640
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
308 pages
Isbn
9780385541251
Lccn
2016051410
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)961249640
Label
The captain's daughter : a novel, Meg Mitchell Moore
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn961249640
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
308 pages
Isbn
9780385541251
Lccn
2016051410
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)961249640

Library Locations

    • Carver Branch Borrow it
      1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2695584 -97.7240278
    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Little Walnut Creek BranchBorrow it
      835 W. Rundberg Lane, Austin, TX, 78758, US
      30.3632362 -97.6984619
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
Processing Feedback ...