The Resource The boat runner : a novel, Devin Murphy

The boat runner : a novel, Devin Murphy

Label
The boat runner : a novel
Title
The boat runner
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Devin Murphy
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II. Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem. On days when they aren't playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys' father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory. When war breaks out, Jacob's world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life-and his life's mission-forever. Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy's harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people's stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails
Summary
Sent to a Hitler Youth Camp to secure German business for his family's Dutch company, Jacob Koopman, the privileged nephew of a fisherman, finds his world upended by the outbreak of the war, which eventually forces him to make a transformative decision about his life purpose
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10578652
Cataloging source
AU@
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Murphy, Devin
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Hitler-Jugend
  • Brothers
  • Teenage boys
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • World War, 1939-1945
Target audience
adult
Label
The boat runner : a novel, Devin Murphy
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Includes P.S. Insights, interviews & more ..
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1001724896
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
370, 13 pages
Isbn
9780062658012
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1001724896
Label
The boat runner : a novel, Devin Murphy
Publication
Copyright
Note
Includes P.S. Insights, interviews & more ..
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1001724896
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
370, 13 pages
Isbn
9780062658012
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1001724896

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • North Village Branch Borrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
    • Pleasant Hill Branch Borrow it
      211 E. William Cannon Blvd., Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.1922461 -97.7771661
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • Twin Oaks Branch Borrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
    • Yarborough BranchBorrow it
      2200 Hancock Dr., Austin, TX, 78756, US
      30.3234684 -97.74072129999999
Processing Feedback ...