Coverart for item
The Resource The art of theft, Sherry Thomas

The art of theft, Sherry Thomas

Label
The art of theft
Title
The art of theft
Statement of responsibility
Sherry Thomas
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"As "Sherlock Holmes, consulting detective," Charlotte Holmes has solved murders and found missing individuals. But she has never stolen a priceless artwork--or rather, made away with the secrets hidden behind a much-coveted canvas. But Mrs. Watson is desperate to help her old friend recover those secrets and Charlotte finds herself involved in a fever-paced scheme to infiltrate a glamorous Yuletide ball where the painting is one handshake away from being sold and the secrets a bare breath from exposure. Her dear friend Lord Ingram, her sister Livia, Livia's admirer Stephen Marbleton--everyone pitches in to help and everyone has a grand time. But nothing about this adventure is what it seems and disaster is biding time on the grounds of a glittering French chateau, waiting only for Charlotte to make a single mistake."--
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2019.
Review
  • In this fun, playful series, Thomas has created a female version of Holmes who is vibrant, real, relatable, and intelligent. This fourth book has Holmes and Watson travel to France, with twists and turns the reader won't see coming. Perfect for fans of Laurie R. King's Mary Russell series and Tasha Alexander's Lady Emily series. -- Carrie Pedigo, Tippecanoe County Public Library, Lafayette, IN. (LibraryReads, October 2019)
  • In Thomas’s fun fourth Lady Sherlock mystery (after 2018’s The Hollow of Fear), Charlotte Holmes, who makes her living “as oracle to her fictional brother Sherlock,” agrees to try to save the Maharani of Ajmer from a blackmailer who has hidden compromising letters in the back of a priceless Van Dyck painting destined to be sold at an annual art-sale-cum-masquerade-ball in France. With her partner, Mrs. Watson, and assorted other allies, Charlotte travels to France, where they conduct risky nighttime reconnaissance of the chateau in which the ball will be held and establish false identities that win them invitations. When they learn that the chateau is riddled with peepholes through which compromising pictures might be taken, they realize that the blackmail scheme targets many victims rather than one. Thomas grounds her fanciful premise in solid detective work and does a fine job of evoking the unfulfilled—and seemingly hopeless—romantic longings that afflict several of her sleuths. Fast-paced storytelling and witty prose add further appeal for those who like their historical mysteries playful. Agent: Kristin Nelson, Nelson Literary. (Oct.) --Staff (Reviewed 08/26/2019) (Publishers Weekly, vol 266, issue 34, p)
  • /* Starred Review */ In the new cat-and-mouse Charlotte "Sherlock" Holmes novel, a heist becomes more complicated than Victorian England's greatest sleuth could have predicted. An unexpected visitor from the British Raj leads to a new assignment for lady detective Charlotte Holmes, one that reveals layers of mystery at each step. Charlotte and her sister, Olivia, plunge into the investigation with Mrs. Watson, Lord Ingram, and a few characters who have appeared fleetingly in the series and another from two of Thomas' other novels. Picking up a few months after Hollow of Fear (2018), this latest adventure pits Holmes and her intrepid band against an unknown blackmailer's demands, which lead them to a French chateau. On arriving there for reconnaissance, however, the group starts to piece together a far broader and more dangerous game at work. Grafting a classic house-party mystery onto a plot of international intrigue and criminal gangs, Thomas has Holmes weave together those threads while still mulling over the long-term fate of her smoldering relationship with her almost-divorced friend, Ingram. Romance fans will have to be satisfied with a few touches and some passages of internal longing, a bit of a letdown after the events of the previous novel. But the restraint fits the personalities of both main characters, and the extra time given to Mrs. Watson's lost Indian love and Olivia's budding one decentralizes Holmes' love plot in interesting ways. Thoughtful yet brief remarks critique patriarchy, heteronormativity, and colonialism, fitting organically into an absorbing whodunwhat arc. An exciting addition to the mystery series; Holmes meets Oceans 11 meets AVindication of the Rights of Woman. (Kirkus Reviews, September 1, 2019)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10818030
Cataloging source
PUL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Thomas, Sherry
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
The Lady Sherlock series
Series volume
0004
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women private investigators
  • Extortion
  • France
  • Great Britain
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
  • FICTION / Romance / Historical / Victorian
Target audience
adult
Label
The art of theft, Sherry Thomas
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Sequel to: The hollow of fear
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1083225177
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
294 pages
Isbn
9780451492470
Lccn
2019024240
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1083225177
Label
The art of theft, Sherry Thomas
Publication
Copyright
Note
Sequel to: The hollow of fear
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1083225177
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
294 pages
Isbn
9780451492470
Lccn
2019024240
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1083225177

Library Locations

    • Carver BranchBorrow it
      1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2695584 -97.7240278
    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • North Village BranchBorrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
Processing Feedback ...