The Resource The Riverman, Aaron Starmer

The Riverman, Aaron Starmer

Label
The Riverman
Title
The Riverman
Statement of responsibility
Aaron Starmer
Title variation
River man
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"The first book in a trilogy about a girl who claims she is visiting a parallel universe where a nefarious being called The Riverman is stealing the souls of children and the boy she asks to write her biography because she fears her soul may be next"--
Member of
Writing style
Review
  • Grades 6-9 When Fiona Loomis shows up at Alistair’s door asking him to pen her biography and begins to tell him of a strange land she’s visited called Aquavania, Alistair isn’t sure he believes any of it. But he’s intrigued and can’t stop himself from wanting to know more. Fiona warns Alistair that the Riverman is stealing the souls of children and that she is next. Alistair, drawn into Fiona’s story, wants to protect her—if only he can discover the full truth. In this dark, twisting tale, readers are never sure if Fiona’s story is true or not, and they won’t want to stop reading until they find out. Alistair is a relatable hero, struggling with what to believe while growing up and moving on from old friends. While the ending is left a bit up in the air, this magical tale is sure to please readers of urban fantasy, and with its theme of missing children and changing friendships, it will be perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Charles de Lint, too. -- Thompson, Sarah Bean (Reviewed 02-01-2014) (Booklist, vol 110, number 11, p65)
  • Starmer (The Only Ones) explores the relationship between creation and theft, reality and fantasy in this haunting novel, narrated retrospectively by Alistair Cleary as he looks back at the autumn of 1989. It's then that a classmate, Fiona Loomis, invites him to write her biography. After 12-year-old Alistair tentatively agrees, Fiona tells him about her repeated trips to a land called Aquavania (via a cylinder of water in her house's boiler), where she and other children can shape reality as they choose. Alistair is understandably skeptical, believing that Fiona has invented this fantasy to cope with some kind of trauma, but the novel's strength is in the pervasive aura of unknowing that Starmer creates and sustains. Is Fiona's uncle a scarred veteran or a menace? Is the Riverman hunting down Aquavania's residents responsible for the disappearance of children in the real world? Starmer makes the possibilities presented by Fiona's stories feel no less improbable (or unsettling) than the scenarios Alistair constructs to explain them away, or the actions he takes in an attempt to protect her. Ages 10–14. Agent: Michael Bourret, Dystel & Goderich Literary Management. (Mar.) --Staff (Reviewed March 3, 2014) (Publishers Weekly, vol 261, issue 09, p)
  • /* Starred Review */ When a classmate asks him to write her biography, 12-year-old Alistair Cleary never dreams the story will "change everything." Growing up in Thessaly, N.Y., in 1989, Alistair's a good kid who hangs out with Nintendo-obsessed pal Charlie. His enigmatic classmate, neighbor Fiona, announces she's chosen him to write her biography because he will "dig up the story beneath the story." Fiona tells Alistair she can travel to a parallel world called Aquavania, where "stories are born" and children with imagination create their own unique worlds. However, the mysterious Riverman is causing children to disappear, and Fiona fears she's next. Convinced Fiona's bizarre story hides something bad in her real life, Alistair's determined to protect her and unearth the truth. But what is the truth, especially when Fiona vanishes after warning Alistair about Charlie and swearing him to secrecy? Alistair's first-person voice lends immediacy and realism to a haunting story, progressing in intensity from October 13 through November 20, as he discovers people are not who they seem to be and reality is much more than he imagined. Lines between reality and fantasy blur in this powerful, disquieting tale of lost children, twisted friendship and the power of storytelling. (Fiction. 10-14)(Kirkus Reviews, February 1, 2014)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10300824
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1976-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Starmer, Aaron
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
Intended audience
730L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
MG+
LC call number
PZ7.S7972
LC item number
Ri 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 6
  • 9
Reading level
4.9
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Riverman trilogy
Series volume
0001
Study program name
Accelerated Reader AR
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Friendship
  • Friendship
  • Fantasy
Target audience
pre adolescent
Label
The Riverman, Aaron Starmer
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1013285
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
310 pages
Isbn
9780374363093
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2013027900
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(Sirsi) i9780374363093
Label
The Riverman, Aaron Starmer
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1013285
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
310 pages
Isbn
9780374363093
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2013027900
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(Sirsi) i9780374363093

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • St. John BranchBorrow it
      7500 Blessing Ave., Austin, TX, 78752, US
      30.3328231 -97.6937014
    • Spicewood Springs BranchBorrow it
      8637 Spicewood Springs Rd., Austin, TX, 78759, US
      30.4337083 -97.7730809
    • Twin Oaks BranchBorrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
Processing Feedback ...