Coverart for item
The Resource Sworn to silence, Linda Castillo

Sworn to silence, Linda Castillo

Label
Sworn to silence
Title
Sworn to silence
Statement of responsibility
Linda Castillo
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Member of
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • /*Starred Review*/ Ohio’s Amish country serves as the bucolic backdrop for romance novelist Castillo’s consistently chilling mystery debut. Kate Burkholder grew up in idyllic Painters Mill, where many residents drive buggies, shun electricity, and distance themselves from the complications of modern life. The presence of a serial killer shatters the stillness of the town, leaving its citizenry terrified and on guard. During this time, young Kate’s life takes a fateful turn when she is sexually assaulted by an Amish man named Daniel Lapp. She shoots Lapp in self-defense and, seeing blood splattered across the floor, is certain he’s dead. (Her father drags away the body, and the family banishes the incident from their memories, never reporting it to police.) With Lapp’s demise, the area murders cease. Rattled residents rest easily once again. Fast-forward 16 years. Kate, now chief of police in Painters Mill, is faced with a series of brutal crimes in which the female victims are tortured and raped. Could Daniel Lapp still be alive? Kate battles her inner demons as she tracks down a killer who shows no sign of letting up. Can she come clean about her past without losing her job? Deeply flawed characters in a distinctive setting make this a crackling good series opener, recommended for fans of T. Jefferson Parker and Robert Ellis, whose books take place in very un-Amish settings but who generate the same kind of chills and suspense. -- Block, Allison (Reviewed 05-01-2009) (Booklist, vol 105, number 17, p36)
  • /* Starred Review */ “A gun-toting, cursing, former Amish female chief of police” stars in this excellent first in a new suspense series from romance veteran Castillo (Fade to Red ). When a serial killer strikes bucolic Painters Mill, Ohio, the killer’s signature—Roman numerals ritualistically carved into each victim’s abdomen—matches the MO of four unsolved murders from 16 years earlier. Police chief Kate Burkholder, who’s reluctant to dredge up the past, must keep secret that she knows why the old murders stopped. Not satisfied with the case’s progress, local politicos set up a multijurisdictional task force to assist, including a law-enforcement agent battling his own demons. The added scrutiny and the rising body count threaten to push the chief over the edge. Adept at creating characters with depth and nuance, Castillo smoothly integrates their backstories into a well-paced plot that illuminates the divide between the Amish and “English” worlds. (June) --Staff (Reviewed April 6, 2009) (Publishers Weekly, vol 256, issue 14, p27)
  • /* Starred Review */ This debut mystery introduces Police Chief Kate Burkholder of Painters Mill, OH. Kate grew up in that Amish community but abandoned her heritage after a traumatic event in her teen years. Now she's back, using her Amish background to navigate between the two factions in the community. Her hard-won equanimity is shaken when the body of a young woman is found. The murder appears to be nearly identical to a series of killings from 16 years ago, though Kate knows that it can't be the same person. As successive murders follow, she is forced to walk a tightrope between running a good investigation and protecting herself and her family. Sworn marks Castillo's move from romantic suspense to straight mystery, and judging by this novel, the move is a good one. Though the ending feels a bit rushed and serial killers abound in crime fiction today, this is very well done. The small-town setting, complicated relationships among the inhabitants, and the strong but battle-scarred protagonist bring Julia Spencer-Fleming's series to mind. Highly recommended for all libraries. [See Prepub Mystery, LJ 2/1/09.]—Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L., WI --Jane Jorgenson (Reviewed March 15, 2009) (Library Journal, vol 134, issue 5, p102)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
306044
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Castillo, Linda
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Kate Burkholder thrillers
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women police chiefs
  • Amish
  • Serial murders
  • Serial murderers
  • Amish Country (Ohio)
Target audience
adult
Label
Sworn to silence, Linda Castillo
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
737294
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
321 pages
Isbn
9780312374976
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2008045671
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780312374976
  • (OCoLC)262885305
Label
Sworn to silence, Linda Castillo
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
737294
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
321 pages
Isbn
9780312374976
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2008045671
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780312374976
  • (OCoLC)262885305

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • North Village BranchBorrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
    • Twin Oaks BranchBorrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
Processing Feedback ...