Coverart for item
The Resource Sweetland : a novel, Michael Crummey

Sweetland : a novel, Michael Crummey

Label
Sweetland : a novel
Title
Sweetland
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Michael Crummey
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
The epic tale of an endangered Newfoundland community and the struggles of one man determined to resist its extinction
Tone
Writing style
Award
Newfoundland and Labrador Book Award for Fiction, 2016.
Review
  • Curmudgeonly but likable Moses Sweetland is holding out against the government’s “offer” to relocate him from the eponymous Canadian maritime island that his family once settled. His best friend is his niece’s challenged son, Jesse. Together they roam, hunting and fishing the nearby lands in which they remain deeply rooted. Tragedy ensues, and Sweetland maintains his resistance intransigently, then surreptitiously, ultimately quite alone. This is a familiar story, but it is told precisely and heartwarmingly, realistically and without sentimentality. Its small cast of accompanying characters is well and wittily delineated, and Crummey’s characteristic switching between past and present is done craftily. Crummey’s prior novels have been well received (Galore, among others), but with this simple and profound story, he may become a newfound author for readers of Jon Hassler, Kent Haruf, and other masters of small-town fiction. -- Levine, Mark (Reviewed 11-01-2014) (Booklist, vol 111, number 5, p24)
  • /* Starred Review */ Sweetland is both a place—a small island off Newfoundland—and a person—Moses Sweetland—and both have seen better times. The provincial government is offering resettlement money to Sweetland residents, but only if everyone agrees to leave. Moses Sweetland is 69 years old and has been disfigured by an industrial accident. When the story opens, he is the only person—aside from the man considered the island idiot—who opposes the government’s proposition. He’s under plenty of pressure to accept, but the island named for his ancestors, where he takes his great-nephew rabbit hunting and hands down family legends, is the only place Moses can imagine living. Crummey, whose last book, Galore , won the Commonwealth Prize, does both man and place justice: Moses is a memorably strong-willed character, whose manner of thinking and speaking are dying out. The novel also conveys the way that a sense of place is the product of relationships—among the living, with the dead, and, in Moses’s case, arising from intimate connections to land and sea. At the end of the story, Moses remains alone on the island, his supplies dwindling, beset by injury, cold, and memories—the question isn’t what will happen, but how. Having nearly trapped himself in a narrative corner, Crummey writes himself out of it, concluding the book in a way that recalls Aristotle’s maxim from the Poetics : the best endings find a way to be both surprising and inevitable. (Jan.) --Staff (Reviewed September 8, 2014) (Publishers Weekly, vol 261, issue 36, p)
  • Winner of the Commonwealth Prize for Canada, Crummey sets his new work on a sparsely populated Canadian island. Now the government has offered to resettle folks from the island's one town, Sweetland, provided that everyone agrees to leave. The holdout is Moses Sweetland, whose ancestors settled the town. --Barbara Hoffert (Reviewed August 1, 2014) (Library Journal, vol 139, issue 13, p60)
  • /* Starred Review */ On the small fictional island of Sweetland, just south of Newfoundland, a former lighthouse keeper becomes the last man standing when he refuses to accept a government resettlement package—much to everyone's exasperation.Never married and with hardly any living kin, Moses Sweetland has spent most of his 69 years on the island to which his ancestors gave their name. Since technology eliminated his lighthouse keeper job, he has done a little bit of everything, like burying bodies and pulling a baby calf from a neighbor's mistreated cow. He's a sarcastic cuss, but his attachments—especially to his niece's autistic son, who is as adamant about staying on Sweetland as Moses—are strong. In resisting the government's $100,000 cash offer, which needs to be accepted by all the occupants to go through, Moses exposes himself to a series of threats, some of them grisly. But with all the memories the island has for him, and all the secrets there still waiting to be uncovered, he plans on being there until he dies. Canadian author Crummey employs a very different style here than he did with his fanciful, widely admired 2011 novel, Galore. Like Moses, Sweetland moves in fits and starts, capturing the present in patient detail and flashing back to dwell on milestone moments in his life. Unlike most novels steeped in rural nostalgia, it gets a kick out of contemporary life: Moses plays Internet poker; his niece is hooked on Mad Men. But the elimination of an entire community, and what it represents, is deeply felt. Through its crusty protagonist, Crummey's shrewd, absorbing novel tells us how rich a life can be, even when experienced in the narrowest of physical confines.(Kirkus Reviews, November 15, 2014)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10361413
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1965-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Crummey, Michael
Dewey number
813/.54
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9199.3.C717
LC item number
S94 2015
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Rural families
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
Label
Sweetland : a novel, Michael Crummey
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1059761
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First American edition.
Extent
322 pages
Isbn
9780871407900
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2014031404
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780871407900
  • (OCoLC)890798890
Label
Sweetland : a novel, Michael Crummey
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1059761
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First American edition.
Extent
322 pages
Isbn
9780871407900
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2014031404
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780871407900
  • (OCoLC)890798890

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • Old Quarry BranchBorrow it
      7051 Village Center Dr., Austin, TX, 78731, US
      30.3529975 -97.7551561
Processing Feedback ...