Coverart for item
The Resource Stick Dog dreams of ice cream, by Tom Watson ; illustrations by Ethan Long

Stick Dog dreams of ice cream, by Tom Watson ; illustrations by Ethan Long

Label
Stick Dog dreams of ice cream
Title
Stick Dog dreams of ice cream
Statement of responsibility
by Tom Watson ; illustrations by Ethan Long
Creator
Contributor
Author
Illustrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Stick Dog and his feral friends are looking for relief on a very hot day--and this time they have their eyes on a ice cream truck
Member of
Tone
Illustration
Review
  • Grades 3-6 Stick Dog and his stray canine companions—Karen, Mutt, Poo Poo, and Stripe—return for another adventure, this time attempting to beat the summer heat. They start off on a quest for drinking water but are soon redirected when they notice an ice cream truck and the tasty drips it leaves behind. The heist, masterminded by the ever-diplomatic leader Stick Dog, is executed with precision despite his clueless comrades. As in the earlier books, the humor derives from the dogs’ naïveté, narrator asides, and comical artwork. Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid series or Lincoln Peirce’s Big Nate series. -- Weisman, Kay (Reviewed 04-01-2015) (Booklist, vol 111, number 15, p68)
  • Gr 3 – 6 — Stick Dog, Karen, Poo-Poo, Mutt, and Stripes kick off this story in the woods, where they are trying to beat the heat by sticking to the shade. It soon becomes evident to Stick Dog, the most intelligent of the crowd, that he and his pals are in need of a stronger solution, lest they all melt. They soon spot an ice-cream truck and devise a plan to cool off. The stick illustrations throughout are good, goofy fun and will attract readers who can't get enough cartoon-style illustrations amid a middle grade romp. Stick Dog is a slightly condescending narrator, though readers will likely overlook this in favor of the other dogs' humorous quirks. Familiarity with the previous books isn't necessary, but expect readers who pick it up to look for the rest of the series. VERDICT A solid purchase for reluctant readers or for libraries looking to build up a section of titles in the "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" vein.—Ashley Prior, Lincoln Public Library, RI --Ashley Prior (Reviewed February 1, 2015) (School Library Journal, vol 61, issue 2, p95)
  • Will Stick Dog and his buddies find a way to beat the heat?Stick Dog and his canine friends—spotted Stripes, dim-bulb Mutt, poodle Poo-Poo and Karen—are tired of the heat. They need to find some food, some water and a way to stay cool. Their hunt for water is interrupted by Poo-Poo's squirrel obsession, until Stick Dog tricks him by playing to his vanity. They find a bunch of small humans playing with an odd contraption that the dogs decide is some kind of water weapon, but it's too slow with the water to cool them down. (It's a sprinkler.) When they hear annoying music and see a strange truck that makes the humans act oddly, they wonder what this "ice cream" is (dogs can read) and how it leaves delicious rainbow puddles behind. Can they get some for themselves? Stick Dog's fourth food-centric adventure brings nothing new to the series. The slightly clueless Stick Dog leads his totally clueless friends to eventual success in finding food in a human world they don't understand. The Wimpy Kid-like stick drawings on faux lined paper (why?) do little to keep the pages turning. The single joke now in its fourth retelling is only for fans of the series…they may prefer squirrel watching to joining Stick Dog this time. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-10)(Kirkus Reviews, February 1, 2015)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10414957
Cataloging source
NJQ/DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1962-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Watson, Tom
Dewey number
  • [Fic]
  • 813.6
Index
no index present
Intended audience
700L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
MG
LC call number
PZ7.W3298
LC item number
Su 2015
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 3
  • 6
Reading level
4.6
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Long, Ethan
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Stick dog
Series volume
0004
Study program name
Accelerated Reader AR
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Feral dogs
  • Dogs
  • Ice cream, ices, etc.
  • Friendship
  • Dogs
  • Ice cream, ices, etc.
  • Friendship
  • Humorous stories
  • Dogs
  • Feral dogs
  • Friendship
  • Humorous stories
  • Ice cream, ices, etc
Target audience
pre adolescent
Label
Stick Dog dreams of ice cream, by Tom Watson ; illustrations by Ethan Long
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"Illustrations by Ethan Long based on original sketches by Tom Watson."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1083126
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 volume.
Isbn
9780062278074
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2014030713
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780062278074
  • (OCoLC)889666473
Label
Stick Dog dreams of ice cream, by Tom Watson ; illustrations by Ethan Long
Publication
Note
"Illustrations by Ethan Long based on original sketches by Tom Watson."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1083126
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 volume.
Isbn
9780062278074
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2014030713
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780062278074
  • (OCoLC)889666473

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • North Village BranchBorrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
Processing Feedback ...