Coverart for item
The Resource Station Eleven : a novel, Emily St. John Mandel

Station Eleven : a novel, Emily St. John Mandel

Label
Station Eleven : a novel
Title
Station Eleven
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Emily St. John Mandel
Title variation
Station 11
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
One snowy night Arthur Leander, a famous actor, has a heart attack onstage during a production. Jeevan Chaudhary, is in the audience and leaps to his aid. A child actress named Kirsten Raymonde watches in horror as Jeevan performs CPR, pumping Arthur's chest as the curtain drops, but Arthur is dead. That same night, as Jeevan walks home from the theater, a terrible flu begins to spread. Hospitals are flooded and Jeevan and his brother barricade themselves inside as life disintegrates outside
Summary
An actor playing King Lear dies onstage just before a cataclysmic event changes the future of everyone on Earth. What will be valued and what will be discarded? Will art have a place in a world that has lost so much? What will make life worth living? These are just some of the issues explored in this beautifully written dystopian novel. Recommended for fans of David Mitchell, John Scalzi and Kate Atkinson. -- Janet Lockhart for LibraryReads
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Audio
Award
  • Library Journal Best Audio: Fiction
  • RUSA Listen List, 2015.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10377744
Cataloging source
TOH
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1979-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Mandel, Emily St. John
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Kirsten Potter
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Potter, Kirsten
  • Random House Audio Publishing
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Actors
  • Epidemics
  • Theatrical companies
  • Prophets
  • Dystopias
  • Actors
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
Station Eleven : a novel, Emily St. John Mandel
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • Title from container
  • Compact disc
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
audio disc
Carrier category code
sd
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Configuration of playback channels
monaural
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn885207628
Dimensions
4 3/4 in.
Dimensions
  • 4 3/4 in.
  • 4 3/4 in. or 12 cm. diameter
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
9 audio discs (10 hrs., 30 min.)
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780553398076
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
mass produced
Kind of material
plastic with metal
Media category
audio
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
s
Other physical details
digital
Publisher number
  • RHA4606
  • DD12898
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
sound disc
Speed
1.4m. per second (discs)
System control number
(OCoLC)885207628
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Station Eleven : a novel, Emily St. John Mandel
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • Title from container
  • Compact disc
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
audio disc
Carrier category code
sd
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Configuration of playback channels
monaural
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn885207628
Dimensions
4 3/4 in.
Dimensions
  • 4 3/4 in.
  • 4 3/4 in. or 12 cm. diameter
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
9 audio discs (10 hrs., 30 min.)
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780553398076
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
mass produced
Kind of material
plastic with metal
Media category
audio
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
s
Other physical details
digital
Publisher number
  • RHA4606
  • DD12898
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
sound disc
Speed
1.4m. per second (discs)
System control number
(OCoLC)885207628
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Twin Oaks Branch Borrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
    • Yarborough BranchBorrow it
      2200 Hancock Dr., Austin, TX, 78756, US
      30.3234684 -97.74072129999999
Processing Feedback ...