Coverart for item
The Resource Soft City, Hariton Pushwagner ; introduction by Chris Ware ; afterword by Martin Herbert

Soft City, Hariton Pushwagner ; introduction by Chris Ware ; afterword by Martin Herbert

Label
Soft City
Title
Soft City
Statement of responsibility
Hariton Pushwagner ; introduction by Chris Ware ; afterword by Martin Herbert
Creator
Contributor
Artist
Author
Writer of introduction
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
""GOOD MORNING EVERYBODY. . ." So dawns a new day in Soft City, where pill-stuffed citizens sit in traffic, march off to work at Soft Inc., zone out in front of the TV news, and shop, shop, shop. The only graphic novel by the legendary Norwegian pop artist Hariton Pushwagner-- completed in 1975, lost for decades, and never before published in the United States--is a scathing masterpiece in the tradition of Brazil and A Brave New World but with an off-kilter beauty all its own. Pushwagner gives us an epic, exuberantly intricate vision of a single day in a world gone wrong: a brightly smiling, disturbingly familiar dystopia of towering skyscrapers, omnipresent surveillance, and endless, distant war. Every face looks like the next, and language itself has gone soft: "CLEAN BOMB THE HAPPY WAY," blares the morning paper; "Heil Hilton!" barks an overlord on the news. Welcome to Soft City. Now don't be late for work"--
Member of
Summary
""GOOD MORNING EVERYBODY. . . " So dawns a new day in Soft City, where pill-stuffed citizens sit in traffic, march off to work at Soft Inc., zone out in front of the TV news, and shop, shop, shop. Every face looks like the next, and language itself has gone soft. Welcome to Soft City. Now don't be late for work"--
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Illustration
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10563399
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Pushwagner
Dewey number
741.5/9481
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
comics graphic novels
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
  • 1967-
  • 1973-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Ware, Chris
  • Herbert, Martin
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
New York Review comic
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Dystopias
  • Conformity
  • COMICS & GRAPHIC NOVELS
  • COMICS & GRAPHIC NOVELS
  • Conformity
  • Dystopias
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/relation/writerofafterword
4XL8X8zBrnc
Label
Soft City, Hariton Pushwagner ; introduction by Chris Ware ; afterword by Martin Herbert
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
ocn932385821
Dimensions
35 cm.
Extent
167 pages
Isbn
9781681370460
Lccn
2016017257
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
chiefly illustrations (some color)
System control number
(OCoLC)932385821
Label
Soft City, Hariton Pushwagner ; introduction by Chris Ware ; afterword by Martin Herbert
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
ocn932385821
Dimensions
35 cm.
Extent
167 pages
Isbn
9781681370460
Lccn
2016017257
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
chiefly illustrations (some color)
System control number
(OCoLC)932385821

Library Locations

    • Carver Branch Borrow it
      1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2695584 -97.7240278
    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Spicewood Springs Branch Borrow it
      8637 Spicewood Springs Rd., Austin, TX, 78759, US
      30.4337083 -97.7730809
Processing Feedback ...