The Resource Shell : a novel, Kristina Olsson

Shell : a novel, Kristina Olsson

Label
Shell : a novel
Title
Shell
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Kristina Olsson
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In this spellbinding and poignant historical novel--perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Flamethrowers--a Swedish glassmaker and a fiercely independent Australian journalist are thrown together amidst the turmoil of the 1960s and the dawning of a new modern era. 1965: As the United States becomes further embroiled in the Vietnam War, the ripple effects are far-reaching--even to the other side of the world. In Australia, a national military draft has been announced and Pearl Keogh, a headstrong and ambitious newspaper reporter, has put her job in jeopardy to become involved in the anti-war movement. Desperate to locate her two runaway brothers before they're called to serve, Pearl is also hiding a secret shame--the guilt she feels for not doing more for her younger siblings after their mother's untimely death. Newly arrived from Sweden, Axel Lindquist is set to work as a sculptor on the besieged Sydney Opera House. After a childhood in Europe, where the shadow of WWII loomed large, he seeks to reinvent himself in this utterly foreign landscape, and finds artistic inspiration--and salvation--in the monument to modernity that is being constructed on Sydney's Harbor. But as the nation hurtles towards yet another war, Jørn Utzon, the Opera House's controversial architect, is nowhere to be found--and Axel fears that the past he has tried to outrun may be catching up with him. As the seas of change swirl around them, Pearl and Axel's lives orbit each other and collide in this sweeping novel of art and culture, love and destiny"--
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Award
Librarians' Choice (Australia), 2018
Review
  • In Sydney in 1965, journalist Pearl Keogh is dissatisfied at work, relegated to fluff pieces and frustrated by her newspaper’s tacit endorsement of the government’s introduction of a national military draft and involvement in Vietnam. By chance, she meets Swedish glassmaker Axel Lindquist, commissioned to work on the Sydney Opera House, which is besieged by a storm of public criticism as construction drags on and prices mount. As Pearl and Axel develop a romantic relationship, each struggles to understand the secrets and pain that mark the other’s past, including Pearl’s search for her runaway brothers and Axel’s complicated family history. Olsson weaves these seemingly disparate threads together into a fully realized, cohesive tale of guilt on both a personal and national level, and of the transformative power of art. Olsson’s American debut features lyrical writing that brings the cultural upheaval of 1960s Australia vividly to life, and readers who appreciate leisurely paced, thoughtful literary fiction will savor each word of this emotional story of two people—and a country—reckoning with their past and future. -- Martha Waters (Reviewed 8/1/2018) (Booklist, vol 114, number 22, p41)
  • Olsson (In One Skin) uses the building of the Sydney Opera House as the backdrop for a contemplative story of personal guilt and political upheaval. When Australian announces a draft for Vietnam in 1965, Pearl Keogh, a journalist for the Telegraph, begins a frantic search for the younger brothers she abandoned after their mother’s early death. Swedish artist Axel Lindquist arrives in Sydney to produce a glass sculpture for the new opera house. He struggles with the language, designing an appropriate sculpture, and lingering animosity from others toward Sweden’s neutrality during World War II. Axel and Pearl drift into a relationship, though Olsson’s jarring switch between their points of view and heavy reliance on internal thoughts obscures their bond. Pearl finally tracks down her brothers and learns they have already enlisted, causing her to tumble into guilt-ridden reminiscences. Meanwhile, Axel wanders through Sydney, using his reflections on art and quest to meet the reclusive Opera House architect to distract him from the his emotions surrounding his Swedish resistance fighter father’s disappearance after the war. Olsson juxtaposes Pearl and Axel’s complex feelings about their fractured families and tenuous connection with news of politician’s increasing hostility toward the Opera House project. Readers who do not mind a leisurely paced story will enjoy exploring these historical political tensions and meditations on personal responsibility. (Oct.) --Staff (Reviewed 08/06/2018) (Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 32, p)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10732653
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1956-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Olsson, Kristina
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women journalists
  • Brothers and sisters
  • Sculptors
  • Sydney (N.S.W.)
  • Vietnam War, 1961-1975
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Vietnam War (1961-1975)
  • Brothers and sisters
  • Sculptors
  • Women journalists
  • New South Wales
Label
Shell : a novel, Kristina Olsson
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1022679373
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
258 pages
Isbn
9781501193132
Lccn
2018010394
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1022679373
Label
Shell : a novel, Kristina Olsson
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1022679373
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
258 pages
Isbn
9781501193132
Lccn
2018010394
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1022679373

Library Locations

    • Carver BranchBorrow it
      1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2695584 -97.7240278
    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • North Village BranchBorrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
    • Terrazas BranchBorrow it
      1105 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2599154 -97.7334621
    • Willie Mae Kirk BranchBorrow it
      3101 Oak Springs Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.2729762 -97.699748
Processing Feedback ...