Coverart for item
The Resource Reviver : a novel, Seth Patrick

Reviver : a novel, Seth Patrick

Label
Reviver : a novel
Title
Reviver
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Seth Patrick
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Jonah Miller is a Reviver, able to temporarily revive the dead so they can say goodbye to their loved ones--or tell the police who killed them. Jonah works in a department of forensics created specifically for Revivers, and he's the best in the business. For every high-profile corpse pushing daisies, it's Jonah's job to find justice for them. But while reviving the victim of a brutal murder, he encounters a terrifying presence. Something is on the other side watching. Waiting. His superiors tell him it's only in his mind, a product of stress. Jonah isn't so certain. Then Daniel Harker, the first journalist to bring revival to public attention, is murdered. Jonah finds himself getting dragged into the hunt for answers. Working with Harker's daughter Annabel, he becomes determined to find those responsible and bring them to justice. Soon they uncover long-hidden truths that call into doubt everything Jonah stands for, and reveal a sinister force that threatens us all. Putting the paranormal in the police department, first-time author Seth Patrick blends genre lines with this edgy crime thriller. The first novel in the Reviver trilogy, Reviver is sure to appeal to fans of Dean Koontz and Justin Cronin"--
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ Supernatural thrillers don’t get much better than British author Patrick’s assured debut, the first in a trilogy. Journalist Daniel Harker stumbles on the story of a lifetime when he pursues a tip about a fraudulent medium, Eleanor Preston, who shows the skeptical Harker that she can briefly revive the recently dead. Harker soon becomes a wealthy bestselling author by demonstrating to the world that certain people, who become known as revivers, have this uncanny ability. Those who have lost loved ones now have a chance to say a final goodbye, while the police can employ a reviver to get a murder victim to identify his or her killer. During one such conversation with a dead woman, forensic reviver Jonah Miller hears something unsettling from the woman’s mouth that suggests dark forces at work. Patrick has carefully thought through the implications of this phenomenon, including religious objections and insurance issues, and maintains the suspense throughout. (June) --Staff (Reviewed April 29, 2013) (Publishers Weekly, vol 260, issue 17, p)
  • In Irish-born Patrick's tantalizing debut sci-fi thriller, criminal investigations feature a new breed of specialists with the ability to briefly resuscitate murder and accident victims and ask them whodunit (or what-dunit). Young Jonah Miller is the top-rated reviver--the most skilled at bonding with the dead and the most sensitive in ensuring that family members get a chance to say goodbye to their loved ones. But Jonah's special abilities make him vulnerable to dark forces that leave him with frightening visions. He and his colleague at the Forensic Revival Service also must contend with mortal opponents, including the afterlifers, who regard revivals as desecration, and a secret conspiracy poised to take revivals to a dangerous extreme. And then there is the military's secret policy of killing suspected terrorists so revivers can interrogate them. Patrick depicts the world of revivers in vivid detail. Jonah must take a special drug in increasing doses to alleviate the physical aftereffects of connecting with the dead and wipe out the psychological "remnants" of such encounters. The touch of a reviver can cause a nonreviver to experience a "chill"--at its worst, "a taint of death and a deep fear." Revivers are required to take periods of downtime called "tails" to ward off burnout. The book features an alluring femme fatale in Tess, a beauty Jonah fell for as a teenager who mysteriously appears out of nowhere, and another strong romantic interest in Annabel, a reporter investigating the murder of her father, who wrote a best-seller about the first reviver a decade ago. When Patrick ramps up the supernatural component in the book, it becomes a more ordinary thriller. This first installment in a planned trilogy is great in the setup and not so great in the home stretch, which may not bode well for Books 2 and 3.(Kirkus Reviews, June 1, 2013)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10178372
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Patrick, Seth
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Reviver trilogy
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Police
  • Journalists
  • FICTION / Thrillers
  • FICTION / Horror
  • FICTION / Occult & Supernatural
Target audience
adult
Label
Reviver : a novel, Seth Patrick
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/700/9781250021700/image/lgcover.9781250021700.jpg
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
956818
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
pages cm
Isbn
9781250021700
Lccn
2013009949
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781250021700
  • (OCoLC)838197155
Label
Reviver : a novel, Seth Patrick
Link
http://www.netread.com/jcusers2/bk1388/700/9781250021700/image/lgcover.9781250021700.jpg
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
956818
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
pages cm
Isbn
9781250021700
Lccn
2013009949
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781250021700
  • (OCoLC)838197155

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
Processing Feedback ...