Coverart for item
The Resource Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery, Jason Miller

Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery, Jason Miller

Label
Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery
Title
Red dog
Title remainder
a Slim in Little Egypt mystery
Statement of responsibility
Jason Miller
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne'er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller's wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series--perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles. One hot summer day, in his home in the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt--a Midwest Gothic wonderland of barren vistas, sinister hollows, petty corruption, and deeply strange characters--the self-appointed "redneck detective" known as Slim gets a visit from a shady-looking pair who introduce themselves as Sheldon Cleaves and his son, A. Evan, looking to hire him to find a missing dog. As a miner with a reputation for "bloodhounding"--tracking down missing persons the police can't find or won't--Slim is accustomed to looking for people, not pets. On the other hand, he needs the cash to fix his air conditioner. But when he pulls the thread that leads to the Cleaveses' red-haired purebred pitbull--and then the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off--Slim finds himself plunged into a world of underground dogfights and white supremacists. all because he just wanted to get cool. As bitingly funny as it is starkly violent, Red Dog marks the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction"--
  • "It's an insufferable, hot summer day in Little Egypt when Sheldon Cleaves and his son A. Evan darken Slim's doorstep. For a measly fee of $65, they hire Slim to find their Shelby Ann, a red-haired purebred pitbull, viewed more as family than dog. Desperate for funds to repair his air conditioner, Slim takes the case. It isn't long before Slim identifies the dognapper and is able to reunite Shelby Ann with her family. But when the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off, the local authorities suspect Slim. Set on clearing his name, Slim starts his own investigation, enlisting the help of his muscle-clad friend Jeep and his precocious daughter Anci, always game for sleuthing. But bloodhound-ing leads them down a treacherous path, right to the seedy underbelly of little Egypt where dogfights are held literally underground and a white supremacist group called the White Dragons seem to be calling the shots. The second mystery in the Little Egypt series, Red Dog is as bitingly funny as it is violent, marking the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction"--
Member of
Summary
Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne’er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller’s wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series—perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles
Pace
Tone
Character
Award
Library Journal Best Books, 2016
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10518093
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Miller, Jason
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Slim in Little Egypt series
Series volume
[2]
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Private investigators
  • Murder
  • Dogfighting
  • Illinois
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
  • FICTION / Thrillers
  • Dogfighting
  • Murder
  • Private investigators
  • Illinois
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a Slim in Little Egypt mystery
Label
Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery, Jason Miller
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn928131395
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
338 pages
Isbn
9780062449061
Lccn
2016016055
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)928131395
Label
Red dog : a Slim in Little Egypt mystery, Jason Miller
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn928131395
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
338 pages
Isbn
9780062449061
Lccn
2016016055
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)928131395

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
Processing Feedback ...