Coverart for item
The Resource Quiet as they come, Angie Chau

Quiet as they come, Angie Chau

Label
Quiet as they come
Title
Quiet as they come
Statement of responsibility
Angie Chau
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of authors like Jhumpha Lahiri, Quiet As They Come is a beautiful and at times brutal portrait of a people caught between two cultures. Set in San Francisco from the 1980s to the present day, this debut collection explores the lives of several families of Vietnamese immigrants as they struggle to adjust to life in their new country, often haunted by the memories and customs of their old lives in Vietnam. While some are able to survive and assimilate, others are crushed by the promise of the "American Dream." No matter their fate, you will never be able to forget the people you meet in this remarkable collection
Summary
First generation Vietnamese immigrants struggle to create a life for themselves and their children in America
Theme
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
369174
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Chau, Angie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Vietnamese Americans
  • Refugees
  • San Francisco (Calif.)
  • California
  • Autobiographical fiction
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Quiet as they come, Angie Chau
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Arcade games
  • In the season of milk fruit
  • Relief
  • Hunger
  • The pussycats
  • Everything forbidden
  • Quiet as they come
  • A map back to the world and into your heart
  • Silver girl
  • Taps
  • They were dangerous
Control code
ocn601129039
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
199 p.
Isbn
9781935439189
Lccn
2010023043
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)601129039
Label
Quiet as they come, Angie Chau
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Arcade games
  • In the season of milk fruit
  • Relief
  • Hunger
  • The pussycats
  • Everything forbidden
  • Quiet as they come
  • A map back to the world and into your heart
  • Silver girl
  • Taps
  • They were dangerous
Control code
ocn601129039
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
199 p.
Isbn
9781935439189
Lccn
2010023043
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)601129039

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
Processing Feedback ...