The Resource Poison princess, Kresley Cole

Poison princess, Kresley Cole

Label
Poison princess
Title
Poison princess
Statement of responsibility
Kresley Cole
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the aftermath of a cataclysmic event, sixteen-year-old Evie, from a well-to-do Louisiana family, learns that her terrible visions are actually prophecies and that there are others like herself--embodiments of Tarot cards destined to engage in an epic battle
Member of
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • Grades 9-12 “You must trump the twenty-one other Arcana cards, Evie. Only one can live.” Sixteen-year-old Evie hears voices and sees visions of a red-haired, violent, plant-wielding woman who seems familiar. Despite a “flash” that transforms her world into a postapocalyptic nightmare, complete with zombies and cannibals, Evie goes in search of answers, accompanied by hunky Cajun hothead Jackson, who seems attracted to and repelled by her in equal measure. The Arcana Chronicles’ premise is that there are teens in the world who are actually living embodiments of the tarot deck, and war is brewing. Evie’s first “trump” occupies relatively few pages; most involve her evolution into the Empress and her relationship with Jackson. The prose crackles with energy and interest, and the content taps into the demand for paranormal romance; this could be the next Twilight. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Cole, the number-one New York Times best-selling author of the Immortals after Dark series, makes her YA debut here, boosted by an extensive marketing push. -- Welch, Cindy (Reviewed 09-01-2012) (Booklist, vol 109, number 1, p118)
  • In Louisiana, there’s every kind of crazy. There’s the crazy of a grandmother locked up in the madhouse. There’s the crazy of the seething Cajun boy, Jackson, with bandaged knuckles, a drinking problem, and nightmares. And there’s the crazy of 16-year-old Evie, who sees hallucinations that have bloody and all-too-real effects in the real world. In the days before the Flash, a disaster that decimates the planet, Evie is mostly concerned with dodging her boyfriend’s plans for her virginity and surviving the last two years of high school. Her visions of writhing vines and a savagely murderous red witch are just something she has to deal with. After the Flash, Evie faces a whole new reality: she’s not crazy. The “hallucinations” were true. Adult romance author Cole moves past apocalypse into pure horror as she launches her first series for teens: bracketing Evie’s narrative of self-discovery is her chilling encounter with a serial killer who keeps girls—and bodies—in the basement. For fans of Freddie and Jason, Cole’s tarot-themed supernatural thriller will hold a similarly lurid fascination. Ages 14–up. Agent: Robin Rue, Writers House. (Oct.)â–  --Staff (Reviewed October 1, 2012) (Publishers Weekly, vol 259, issue 40, p)
  • Mixing romance, a plant-killing apocalypse and mystical mumbo jumbo, this YA debut brings tears for the trees killed to print it. Before the Flash, Evie worried about avoiding Jackson Deveaux, a Cajun boy from the wrong side of the tracks, and not going crazy from the horrifying visions she sees or the voices in her head. After the Flash, a convenient apocalyptic event that wipes out any life exposed to it--human, animal and vegetable--Evie, bland and kind, eventually joins forces with the one-dimensional Jackson, who's either surly or sexually aggressive. Evie learns that she is part of the Arcana, a secret group with supernatural powers representing cards in the tarot, and they will soon engage in a battle with Death itself. If Evie doesn't accept her powers as the Empress, the world is doomed, but probably not as much as this novel. The relationship between Jackson and Evie seems more like emotional manipulation and abuse than sexy romance. Cole clearly missed the science lesson about photosynthesis--wiping out all plants would probably quickly eliminate all life, period. Meanwhile, the plot is all setup, wandering through seemingly disconnected scenes until a jarring ending. This novel is more dead garden than lush paradise. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)(Kirkus Reviews, September 15, 2012)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10145507
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cole, Kresley
Index
no index present
Intended audience
  • Ages 14 up
  • HL670L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
UG
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 9
  • 12
Reading level
4.6
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
The Arcana chronicles
Series volume
0001
Study program name
Accelerated Reader AR
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Supernatural
  • Ability
  • Prophecies
  • Tarot
  • Ability
  • Prophecies
  • Tarot
  • Young adult fiction
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Poison princess, Kresley Cole
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
895192
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
369 pages
Isbn
9781442436640
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2012000919
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781442436640
  • (OCoLC)778990535
Label
Poison princess, Kresley Cole
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
895192
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
369 pages
Isbn
9781442436640
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2012000919
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781442436640
  • (OCoLC)778990535

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Cepeda BranchBorrow it
      651 N. Pleasant Valley Rd., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2590471 -97.7088905
    • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • University Hills BranchBorrow it
      4701 Loyola Ln., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3093017 -97.6664785
    • Yarborough BranchBorrow it
      2200 Hancock Dr., Austin, TX, 78756, US
      30.3234684 -97.74072129999999
Processing Feedback ...