The Resource Pachinko, Min Jin Lee

Pachinko, Min Jin Lee

Label
Pachinko
Title
Pachinko
Statement of responsibility
Min Jin Lee
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--
Summary
In early 1900s Korea, prized daughter Sunja finds herself pregnant and alone, bringing shame on her family until a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and move with her to Japan, in the saga of one family bound together as their faith and identity are called into question
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • ALA Notable Book, 2018.
  • Loan Stars Favourites, 2017
  • New York Times Notable Book, 2017
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10550780
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lee, Min Jin
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Families
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Families
  • Korea
Target audience
adult
Label
Pachinko, Min Jin Lee
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn951711063
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
490 pages
Isbn
9781455563937
Lccn
2016023353
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)951711063
Label
Pachinko, Min Jin Lee
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn951711063
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
490 pages
Isbn
9781455563937
Lccn
2016023353
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)951711063

Library Locations

    • Carver Branch Borrow it
      1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2695584 -97.7240278
    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • North Village Branch Borrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
    • Old Quarry Branch Borrow it
      7051 Village Center Dr., Austin, TX, 78731, US
      30.3529975 -97.7551561
    • Spicewood Springs Branch Borrow it
      8637 Spicewood Springs Rd., Austin, TX, 78759, US
      30.4337083 -97.7730809
    • Terrazas Branch Borrow it
      1105 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2599154 -97.7334621
    • Willie Mae Kirk Branch Borrow it
      3101 Oak Springs Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.2729762 -97.699748
    • Yarborough BranchBorrow it
      2200 Hancock Dr., Austin, TX, 78756, US
      30.3234684 -97.74072129999999
Processing Feedback ...