Coverart for item
The Resource Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law, Katherine Wilson

Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law, Katherine Wilson

Label
Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law
Title
Only in Naples
Title remainder
lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law
Statement of responsibility
Katherine Wilson
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher and Peter Mayle, this enchantingly warm and witty memoir follows American-born Katherine Wilson on her adventures abroad, where a three-month rite of passage in Naples turns into a permanent embrace of this boisterous city on the Mediterranean. It is all thanks to a surprising romance, a new passion for food, and a spirited woman who will become her mother-in-law--and teach her to laugh, to seize joy, and to love"--
Summary
After graduating from college, well-to-do Katherine Wilson left Washington, D.C. and headed to Naples, Italy for an unpaid internship at the American Consul. Though Naples was considered "dirty and dangerous" by her friends and family, she discovered that people either loved or hated the city, and she loved it. Not only did she learn to eat better (she'd been a binge eater), but she was embraced by an Italian family and their chic, well-connected matriarch, Raffaella, who taught Wilson about Neapolitan culture and how to cook delicious local foods -- and eventually lessons about marriage and motherhood when Wilson married her son. This lighthearted, charming look at Italian life includes recipes. -- Description by Dawn Towery
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
autobiography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10481675
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1974-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Wilson, Katherine
Dewey number
  • 945/.7310929092
  • B
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Wilson, Katherine
  • Wilson, Katherine
  • Wilson, Katherine
  • Naples (Italy)
  • Americans
  • Daughters-in-law
  • Mothers-in-law
  • Families
  • Cooking
  • Naples (Italy)
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
  • TRAVEL
  • COOKING
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law
Label
Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law, Katherine Wilson
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn916591695
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 287 pages
Isbn
9780812998160
Lccn
2015016098
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)916591695
Label
Only in Naples : lessons in food and famiglia from my Italian mother-in-law, Katherine Wilson
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn916591695
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 287 pages
Isbn
9780812998160
Lccn
2015016098
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)916591695

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
Processing Feedback ...