Coverart for item
The Resource Kingdom of ash and briars, Hannah West

Kingdom of ash and briars, Hannah West

Label
Kingdom of ash and briars
Title
Kingdom of ash and briars
Statement of responsibility
Hannah West
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Sixteen-year-old Bristal discovers she is a shapeshifter, one of three remaining elicromancers tasked with guarding the realm of Nissera against dark magic while manipulating three royal families to promote peace
Member of
Storyline
Review
  • Grades 7-10 Orphaned and raised as a serving girl, 16-year-old Bristal is stunned to learn that she is one of three elicromancers—immortal, magical beings—in her kingdom. Bristal is quickly found by the other two elicromancers and trained in their ways. One, Tamarice, is hungry for power and soon betrays them all, cursing the royal family and casting the kingdom into darkness. Over the course of the next 16 years, it falls to Bristal to stop Tamarice’s machinations. She uses her shape-shifting skills to secretly raise the cursed youngest princess of the kingdom while helping the hidden oldest princess attend a ball and discover her heritage. At the same time, she disguises herself as a man to join a group of the king’s soldiers and prepares herself for the coming fight. The inclusion of multiple familiar stories—Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Mulan—gives this plenty of heft, and the scope of Bristal’s adventures, the atmospheric magical elements, and the light touch of romance will enchant fairy-tale fans. -- Reagan, Maggie (Reviewed 10/15/2016) (Booklist, vol 113, number 4, p55)
  • Gr 7 Up—In the kingdom of Nissera, Bristal works as a common kitchen maid. Her world completely changes when she is kidnapped, thrown into the "Water," and transformed into an elicromancer. The elicromancers, now almost extinct, are an ancient race of magical beings. Bristal is a shape-shifter. Once she makes the transition from mortal to magical, she is befriended by the only two elicromancers in the kingdom, Brack and Tamarice. Brack encourages Bristal to use her abilities for their intended purpose: to serve those who rule Nissera. Tamarice, however, believes they should use their powers to serve themselves instead. Under the tutelage of Brack, Bristal finds herself in many predicaments that readers will recognize from popular fairy tales. However, under the guidance of Tamarice, Bristal begins to understand the allure of power. It is a balancing act she might not be able to handle. West has created a magical world with robust characters and where the themes of good vs. evil permeate the setting. VERDICT An adept work for fans of Alex Flinn's Beastly and Cloaked and books by Gail Carson Levine.—Jeni Tahaney, Duncanville High School Library, TX --Jeni Tahaney (Reviewed 08/01/2016) (School Library Journal, vol 62, issue 8, p104)
  • /* Starred Review */ Bristal, a teenage kitchen maid, never expected to survive being forced into the Water, a pool designed to prove that a mortal may be an elicromancer, an ancient breed of ageless and immortal beings that once populated the realm of Nissera. But she does.With elicrin stone in hand, Bristal is thrust from the Water, proving her birthright as an elicromancer. With Bristal’s true identity revealed, the last two remaining elicromancers, Brack and Tamarice, materialize to rescue Bristal from kidnappers. They begin to train her to use her gift as a Clandestine: the ability to transform into any human or animal form. Tamarice soon rejects an elicromancer’s duty to keep the peace among nations by cursing Volarre’s Princess Rosamund with dark magic in a fate-binding ritual, thereby putting the three kingdoms of Nissera in danger. Now enemies, Bristal must summon all that she has learned and don disguises to unite the kingdoms in defeating Tamarice. Greatly influenced by the likes of “Cinderella,” “Sleeping Beauty,” “Hua Mulan,” and arguably Harry Potter, debut author West mixes fairy-tale charm with contemporary mysticism to create a world both terrifying and wonderful. Bristal, in her shape-shifting glory, delights in her alter egos as boisterous Catleen and ever loyal Tomlin Happer, who joins the Realm Alliance and meets a prince. Race does not appear to be a factor in Nissera; characters read as white. Sweet romance and strong supporting characters complete this impressive debut. (Fantasy. 12-17)(Kirkus Reviews, January 1, 1900)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10528746
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1990-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
West, Hannah
Dewey number
[Fic]
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
no index present
Intended audience
870L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
MG+
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 7
  • 12
Reading level
6.2
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Nissera Chronicles
Series volume
0001
Study program name
Accelerated Reader AR
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Shapeshifting
  • Duty
  • Characters and characteristics in literature
  • Identity (Philosophical concept)
  • Shapeshifting
  • Duty
  • Characters in literature
  • Identity
  • Fantasy
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Kingdom of ash and briars, Hannah West
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1647418
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
358 pages
Isbn
9780823436514
Lccn
2015048226
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
black and white illustrations, map
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780823436514
  • (OCoLC)936344786
Label
Kingdom of ash and briars, Hannah West
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1647418
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
358 pages
Isbn
9780823436514
Lccn
2015048226
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
black and white illustrations, map
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780823436514
  • (OCoLC)936344786

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
Processing Feedback ...