Coverart for item
The Resource Kim Reaper, 1, Grim beginnings, by Sarah Graley ; lettered by Crank!

Kim Reaper, 1, Grim beginnings, by Sarah Graley ; lettered by Crank!

Label
Kim Reaper, 1, Grim beginnings
Title
Kim Reaper
Title number
1
Title part
Grim beginnings
Statement of responsibility
by Sarah Graley ; lettered by Crank!
Title variation
  • Kim Reaper
  • Grim beginnings
Title variation remainder
grim beginnings
Creator
Contributor
Author
Illustrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Like most university students, Kim works a part-time job to make ends meet. Unlike most university students, Kim's job is pretty cool: she's a grim reaper, tasked with guiding souls into the afterlife. Like most university students, Becka has a super intense crush. Unlike most university students, Becka's crush is on a beautiful gothic angel that frequents the underworld
Member of
Tone
Writing style
Character
Illustration
Review
  • Grades 9-12 College is expensive, so part-time jobs are pretty typical. Kim’s job, however, is a far cry from the usual wage labor—she’s a reaper of souls, though she’s still in training, so her souls are mostly of the pet variety. When her cute classmate Becka follows her through her portal and interrupts a particularly challenging job, Kim goes a little too far in trying to impress her: a trip to an amusement park is the tops, but the haunted ship? Not so nice, especially when Becka is possessed by a ghoul. Can their burgeoning romance survive the demands of Kim’s otherworldly job? Thanks to some pluck (and a zombie-smashing rolling pin), yes, it can. Graley’s adorably goth comic is full of over-the-top slapstick; cute, goggle-eyed characters; a sweet lesbian romance; and, of course, lots of skeletons and trips to hell. The contrast between the macabre plot and bubbly art, in a rich palette of warm jewel tones with pops of fluorescent hues, will be utterly bewitching for the right reader. -- Hunter, Sarah (Reviewed 11/15/2017) (Booklist, vol 114, number 6, p38)
  • Gr 7 Up—Graley presents an adorable story of friendship and budding romance—and an underworld of vengeful grim reapers. College student Becka has a crush on Kim, a classmate in an art course, but Kim doesn't even know Becka exists. When Becka accidentally follows Kim through a magical portal, she discovers that Kim works as a part-time grim reaper, helping souls make their way into the afterlife. It soon becomes evident that Kim returns Becka's feelings, but Becka isn't sure she approves of Kim's dangerous profession. While the plot features plenty of ghostly close calls, the tone is more funny than frightening. Featuring soft, curved lines and plenty of visual humor, the cute artwork keeps the mood lighthearted. VERDICT An excellent addition to libraries seeking graphic novels, especially those looking for hi-lo titles for teens interested in paranormal romance.—Emily Butler, Deerfield Academy, MA --Emily Butler (Reviewed 02/01/2018) (School Library Journal, vol 64, issue 2, p110)
  • After working up the courage to invite her crush Kim to the pub for a drink, university student Becka follows her into a portal, where she discovers that Kim’s goth look isn’t an act: Kim works as a part-time grim reaper, collecting the souls of animals and, eventually, humans. Becka accompanies Kim on a few missions, but she isn’t entirely comfortable with Kim’s career choice, creating a potential roadblock in their relationship. With plenty of hijinks (an amped-up bodybuilder with an army of cats, ghoul-possessed pirate treasure, a plague of zombies) and banter (“Your noodley arms pack such a punch,” gushes Becka at one point), the story has no shortage of entertaining moments. But they play second fiddle to its focus on how one goes about setting boundaries in relationships, especially in the face of trying to make a living. Graley uses a dark, purplish palette to create an atmosphere of otherworldly adventure without resorting to a full-on goth-culture black motif. Her chunky drawing style resists over-sexualizing the girls’ budding romance, and the steady stream of jokes keeps her story’s more intense emotional moments from getting too dire or serious. Ages 13–up. (Feb.) --Staff (Reviewed 01/01/2018) (Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 01, p)
  • Two girls attending university crush on each other and fight supernatural creatures in this charming graphic novel for teens. Uni student Becka has a thing for goth girls. Brown-haired, brown-skinned, curvy, and femme, she works in a bakery and spends her art-history class daydreaming about her classmate Kim: "a 100% cutie with a booty." Kim is pale with a purple bob and cat's-eye eyeliner. When Becka finally works up the nerve to ask Kim out, she follows her out of class—and accidentally stumbles through a pink portal surrounded by skulls and swirling purple ghosts. Kim, casually carrying a portal-creating scythe, is on her way to reap the soul of a cat, her current assignment in her new job as a part-time grim reaper (to pay her way through uni). Becka's arrival disrupts the process, sending them on a whirlwind adventure-turned-date to save Kim's job and get home safely. Zombies, ghouls, and skeletal reapers all make appearances, but Graley's humorous dialogue and cute cartoon illustrations (featuring Gravity Falls-esque oversized eyes and bubble-gum colors) keep things light. An appealing mixture of 95 percent humor and 5 percent horror perfect for fans of John Allison's graphic-novel series Giant Days and the web series Carmilla. (Graphic fantasy. 12-18) (Kirkus Reviews, November 15, 2017)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10618819
Cataloging source
BTCTA
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Graley, Sarah
Dewey number
741.5
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
http://bibfra.me/vocab/relation/letterer
59jvec9SPkE
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 9
  • 12
Nature of contents
comics graphic novels
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Crank!
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Kim Reaper
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Grim Reaper (Symbolic character)
  • Women college students
  • Lesbians
  • Grim Reaper (Symbolic character)
  • Lesbians
  • Graphic novels
Label
Kim Reaper, 1, Grim beginnings, by Sarah Graley ; lettered by Crank!
Instantiates
Publication
Note
  • Chiefly illustrations
  • "Originally published as Issues 1-4 of the Oni Press comic series Kim Reaper"--Title page verso
  • "1"--Spine
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
on1000049752
Dimensions
26 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
99 pages
Isbn
9781620104552
Lccn
2017946413
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9781620104552
Other physical details
color illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1000049752
Label
Kim Reaper, 1, Grim beginnings, by Sarah Graley ; lettered by Crank!
Publication
Note
  • Chiefly illustrations
  • "Originally published as Issues 1-4 of the Oni Press comic series Kim Reaper"--Title page verso
  • "1"--Spine
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
on1000049752
Dimensions
26 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
99 pages
Isbn
9781620104552
Lccn
2017946413
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9781620104552
Other physical details
color illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1000049752

Library Locations

    • Carver BranchBorrow it
      1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2695584 -97.7240278
    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • North Village BranchBorrow it
      2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
      30.362144 -97.7305032
    • St. John BranchBorrow it
      7500 Blessing Ave., Austin, TX, 78752, US
      30.3328231 -97.6937014
    • Windsor Park BranchBorrow it
      5833 Westminster Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3116523 -97.6902298
Processing Feedback ...