The Resource In the Country of the Blind : A Zach Brandis Novel, Matthew Arkin

In the Country of the Blind : A Zach Brandis Novel, Matthew Arkin

Label
In the Country of the Blind : A Zach Brandis Novel
Title
In the Country of the Blind
Title remainder
A Zach Brandis Novel
Statement of responsibility
Matthew Arkin
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A dead body is a lousy way to end a first date." So begins In the Country of the Blind, a modern noir tale that takes readers into the world of former attorney-turned building superintendent Zach Brandis. When Zach abandoned his promising legal career, it confused everyone, including himself. Now, with no apparent purpose in life, he has time enough on his hands to get into some very hot water. When Zach takes Cynthia Hull to dinner, murder and a confrontation with the cops are the last things on his mind. But when he walks her home, he finds himself face to face with New York's finest, who are investigating the suspicious death of the actress's roommate and friend Alex Penworth. Maybe it's because Cynthia is beautiful and vulnerable, or maybe it's just because the cops rub him the wrong way, but Zach steps in to shield her from their persistent questions. In the days following, Zach finds himself increasingly tied in knots over the case, and what starts as simple curiosity may end up putting the former attorney in grave danger. Captivated by the puzzle of Alex's death, Zach begins to play with the pieces. When Cynthia's apartment is ransacked shortly after the murder, it becomes clear that Alex was hiding something, something of value to someone. Looking into Alex's mysterious activities in the weeks before his death, more questions begin to emerge: Why was Alex fired from his bartending job? Why is a beautiful undercover narc hanging around the bar where Alex worked, and trying to keep Zach away? Why do the cops seem uninterested in the inconsistencies in Alex's autopsy report? As Zach puts the pieces in place, a picture of the victim begins to emerge: Alex, another lost soul, plagued by his past and the demons of the cult he escaped - a man who, like Zach, abandoned a promising career to struggle as a going-nowhere actor/bartender. Driven by his feeling of kinship with the victim, can Zach discover what ultimately led to Alex's death, and still get himself out of harm's way before it's too late? A dark and witty tale in the vein of John Sandford and Lawrence Block, In the Country of the Blind is a true page-turner, suspenseful from beginning to end. This character-driven thriller will have readers on the edge of their seats, driven, like Zach, to uncover the secrets behind the gruesome murder
Cataloging source
ScCtBLL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Arkin, Matthew
Government publication
unknown if item is government publication
Literary form
unknown
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
Fiction / Mystery & Detective
Label
In the Country of the Blind : A Zach Brandis Novel, Matthew Arkin
Link
https://atxlibrary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://austintexas.biblioboard.com/content/2afd5b2c-1825-4163-a9a4-aa5752d2135a?organizationId=c1683edd-c1c6-4c5e-aff4-e939e94fb16b
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2afd5b2c-1825-4163-a9a4-aa5752d2135a
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Note
BiblioBoard internal publisher id: b19e7ade-abb2-451d-a5c4-75f5a339faa8
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)963794810
Label
In the Country of the Blind : A Zach Brandis Novel, Matthew Arkin
Link
https://atxlibrary.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://austintexas.biblioboard.com/content/2afd5b2c-1825-4163-a9a4-aa5752d2135a?organizationId=c1683edd-c1c6-4c5e-aff4-e939e94fb16b
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2afd5b2c-1825-4163-a9a4-aa5752d2135a
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Note
BiblioBoard internal publisher id: b19e7ade-abb2-451d-a5c4-75f5a339faa8
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
(OCoLC)963794810

Library Locations

  • Austin History CenterBorrow it
    810 Guadalupe St., Austin, TX, 78701, US
    30.2717033 -97.7458906
  • Carver BranchBorrow it
    1161 Angelina St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
    30.2695584 -97.7240278
  • Central LibraryBorrow it
    710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
    30.2713021 -97.7460168
  • Cepeda BranchBorrow it
    651 N. Pleasant Valley Rd., Austin, TX, 78702, US
    30.2590471 -97.7088905
  • Howson BranchBorrow it
    2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
    30.2982508 -97.7675915
  • Little Walnut Creek BranchBorrow it
    835 W. Rundberg Lane, Austin, TX, 78758, US
    30.3632362 -97.6984619
  • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
    5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
    30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
  • Milwood BranchBorrow it
    12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
    30.4223444 -97.7161692
  • North Village BranchBorrow it
    2505 Steck Ave, Austin, TX, 78757, US
    30.362144 -97.7305032
  • Old Quarry BranchBorrow it
    7051 Village Center Dr., Austin, TX, 78731, US
    30.3529975 -97.7551561
  • Pleasant Hill BranchBorrow it
    211 E. William Cannon Blvd., Austin, TX, 78745, US
    30.1922461 -97.7771661
  • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
    1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
    30.2298616 -97.7070109
  • Southeast BranchBorrow it
    5803 Nuckols Crossing Rd., Austin, TX, 78744, US
    30.1876256 -97.7419319
  • Spicewood Springs BranchBorrow it
    8637 Spicewood Springs Rd., Austin, TX, 78759, US
    30.4337083 -97.7730809
  • St. John BranchBorrow it
    7500 Blessing Ave., Austin, TX, 78752, US
    30.3328231 -97.6937014
  • Terrazas BranchBorrow it
    1105 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
    30.2599154 -97.7334621
  • Twin Oaks BranchBorrow it
    1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
    30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
  • University Hills BranchBorrow it
    4701 Loyola Ln., Austin, TX, 78723, US
    30.3093017 -97.6664785
  • Willie Mae Kirk BranchBorrow it
    3101 Oak Springs Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
    30.2729762 -97.699748
  • Windsor Park BranchBorrow it
    5833 Westminster Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
    30.3116523 -97.6902298
  • Yarborough BranchBorrow it
    2200 Hancock Dr., Austin, TX, 78756, US
    30.3234684 -97.74072129999999
Processing Feedback ...