Coverart for item
The Resource Grim Death and Bill the Electrocuted Criminal, Mike Mignola and Tom Sniegoski

Grim Death and Bill the Electrocuted Criminal, Mike Mignola and Tom Sniegoski

Label
Grim Death and Bill the Electrocuted Criminal
Title
Grim Death and Bill the Electrocuted Criminal
Statement of responsibility
Mike Mignola and Tom Sniegoski
Title variation
Grim Death & Bill the Electrocuted Criminal
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"An uneasiness festers upon the city streets, threatening the peace and safety of law abiding citizens. A war is escalating, and it seems as though the good and righteous are being crushed beneath the unholy weight of evil's onslaught. Organized crime is spreading in an unchecked reign of terror. Until a mysterious agent of retribution rises up from the shadows to challenge the villains. A lone figure, clad in a slouch hat and clothes seemingly stitched from the blackest shadows, masked in the guise of a skull-faced death--a Grim Death--emerges with guns blazing. With him, a wronged ex-con clad in the striped costume of his misfortune--Bill the Electrocuted Criminal. In this beautifully illustrated 1930s Pulp-style novel, two dark new characters by New York Times bestselling author and comic book writer Tom Sniegoski and New York Times bestselling, award-winning creator of Hellboy Mike Mignola who also worked on the Hellboy movies with Guillermo del Toro, take to the street to fight the growing infection of organized crime. Grim Death and Bill the Electrocuted Criminal are not your average heroes, but they want justice."--
Tone
Character
Illustration
Review
  • Bentley Hawthorne isn't your typical superhero, but he's serving as death's avenger. Wearing a skull face, he enacts justice by putting murderers to death. Like Batman, Bentley was raised by loving and rich parents and relies on a butler. His parents took a risk by trusting an inventor who promised to ensure that their sickly son would live a long life. Deals with the devil (or with new technology) are never without payment, and as a result of his parents' decision, Bentley must avenge ghosts who visit him. In this pulp fiction—style novel, the action is fast and the plot a bit far-fetched (knife-wielding gorillas, mind-controlling mermaids, evil clowns). Bentley is a relatable character who has the exhausting task of assuming the guise of Grim Death. Flashbacks to Bentley's childhood depict his transformation, and funny quips and moments temper what could have been a dark tale. The book's wide trim size and the occasional, bland black-and-white illustrations give it a unique look. VERDICT A solid horror addition for high school libraries—perfect for readers who enjoyed Neal Shusterman's Scythe or Gina Damico's Croak but also for fans of paranormal mysteries or superhero comics.—Sarah Hill, Lake Land College, Mattoon, IL --Sarah Hill (Reviewed 07/01/2017) (School Library Journal, vol 63, issue 7, p97)
  • In this eerie illustrated horror novel set in an unspecified American city during the early days of the Great Depression, author Sniegoski and author and artist Mignola combine words and black-and-white illustrations to creepy effect in the tale of a man who has been given a new life, with a twist. His real name is Bentley Hawthorne, heir to a munitions magnate, but when he puts on the skull mask and goes to work, he is the Grim Death. His task is to avenge those who’ve died untimely, and his orders come to him in the form of ghosts who need retribution. Bentley battles injustice with the aid of his trusty servant, Pym, and a pair of .45-caliber pistols from his father’s factory. Mignola and Sniegoski have created a comic book–style character who rights wrongs in a sinister, hair-raisingly enjoyable way, with an open ending that leaves room for more episodes. The illustrations are bland and generic, but the straightforward writing style will appeal to teen readers. Agent: Howard Morhaim, Howard Morhaim Literary. (Mar.) --Staff (Reviewed 12/05/2016) (Publishers Weekly, vol 263, issue 49, p)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10552320
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Mignola, Mike
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Sniegoski, Tom
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
Organized crime
Label
Grim Death and Bill the Electrocuted Criminal, Mike Mignola and Tom Sniegoski
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1738495
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
1 volume
Isbn
9781250077684
Lccn
2016044042
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781250077684
  • (OCoLC)947145986
Label
Grim Death and Bill the Electrocuted Criminal, Mike Mignola and Tom Sniegoski
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1738495
Edition
First Edition.
Extent
1 volume
Isbn
9781250077684
Lccn
2016044042
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781250077684
  • (OCoLC)947145986

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Southeast BranchBorrow it
      5803 Nuckols Crossing Rd., Austin, TX, 78744, US
      30.1876256 -97.7419319
    • Windsor Park BranchBorrow it
      5833 Westminster Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3116523 -97.6902298
Processing Feedback ...