Coverart for item
The Resource Golden State : a novel, Stephanie Kegan

Golden State : a novel, Stephanie Kegan

Label
Golden State : a novel
Title
Golden State
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Stephanie Kegan
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the vein of Defending Jacob or We Need to Talk About Kevin, a compelling literary drama about finding evil close to home and how far a woman will go to protect her family. All her life, Natalie Askedahl has been the good girl, an obedient team player. Growing up as the youngest child in one of California's most prominent political families, she worshipped her big brother, Bobby, a sensitive math prodigy who served as her protector and confidante. But after Bobby left home at sixteen on a Harvard scholarship, something changed between them as Bobby retreated deeper into his own head. Now that Natalie is a happily married, with a lawyer husband, two young daughters, and a house in the Berkeley Hills, her only real regret is losing Bobby. Then, a bomb explodes in the middle of her ideal-seeming life. Her oldest daughter is on the Stanford campus when one person is killed and another maimed. Worse, other attacks follow across California. Frightened for her family, Natalie grows obsessed with the case of the so-called Cal Bomber, until she makes an unthinkable discovery: the bomber's infamous manifesto reads alarmingly like the last letter she has from Bobby, whom she has seen only once in fifteen years. Unable to face the possibility that her sweet brother could be a monster and a murderer, is confronted with a terrible choice, about who to sacrifice and who to protect. The decision she makes will send her down a rabbit hole of confusion, lies, and betrayals that threaten to destroy her relationships with everyone she holds dear. As her life splits irrevocably into before and after, what she begins to learn is that some of the most dangerous things in the world are the stories we tell ourselves"--
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10395810
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kegan, Stephanie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Brothers and sisters
  • Bombings
  • California
Label
Golden State : a novel, Stephanie Kegan
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1063771
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
288 pages
Isbn
9781476709314
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2014040473
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781476709314
  • (OCoLC)893784180
Label
Golden State : a novel, Stephanie Kegan
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1063771
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
288 pages
Isbn
9781476709314
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Lccn
2014040473
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781476709314
  • (OCoLC)893784180

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
Processing Feedback ...