The Resource Glow, Jessica Maria Tuccelli

Glow, Jessica Maria Tuccelli

Label
Glow
Title
Glow
Statement of responsibility
Jessica Maria Tuccelli
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A breathtaking Georgia-mountain epic about the complex bond of mothers and daughters across a century. In the autumn of 1941, Amelia J. McGee, a young woman of Cherokee and Scotch-Irish descent, and an outspoken pamphleteer for the NAACP, hastily sends her daughter, Ella, alone on a bus home to Georgia in the middle of the night-a desperate action that is met with dire consequences when the child encounters two drifters and is left for dead on the side of the road. Ella awakens to find herself in the homestead of Willie Mae Cotton, a wise hoodoo practitioner and former slave, and her partner, Mary-Mary Freeborn, tucked deep in the Takatoka forest. As Ella begins to heal, the legacies of her lineage are revealed. Glow transports us from Washington, D.C., on the brink of World War II to 1836 and into the mountain coves of Hopewell County, Georgia, full of ghosts both real and imagined. Illuminating the tragedy of human frailty, the power of friendship and hope, and the fiercest of all human bonds-mother love-this stunning debut will appeal to readers of both Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees and Amy Green's Bloodroot"--
Summary
Attacked by two drifters after her outspoken NAACP mother desperately sends her away in 1941, Ella awakens in the homestead of hoodoo practitioner and former slave Willie Mae Cotton and her partner, Mary-Mary Freeborne, who help Ella to discover truths about her heritage
Storyline
Tone
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10056362
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Tuccelli, Jessica Maria
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3620.U27
LC item number
G58 2012
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Mothers and daughters
  • Mountain life
  • FICTION / Coming of Age
  • FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • FICTION / Literary
Target audience
adult
Label
Glow, Jessica Maria Tuccelli
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
2011037553
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
324 p.
Isbn
9780670023318
Lccn
2011037553
Label
Glow, Jessica Maria Tuccelli
Publication
Control code
2011037553
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
324 p.
Isbn
9780670023318
Lccn
2011037553

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Manchaca Road Branch Borrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • Spicewood Springs Branch Borrow it
      8637 Spicewood Springs Rd., Austin, TX, 78759, US
      30.4337083 -97.7730809
    • Twin Oaks Branch Borrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
    • Yarborough BranchBorrow it
      2200 Hancock Dr., Austin, TX, 78756, US
      30.3234684 -97.74072129999999
Processing Feedback ...