The Resource Gilded cage, Vic James

Gilded cage, Vic James

Label
Gilded cage
Title
Gilded cage
Statement of responsibility
Vic James
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Victoria Aveyard and Kiera Cass comes a darkly fantastical debut set in a modern England where magically gifted aristocrats rule--and commoners are doomed to serve. NOT ALL ARE FREE. NOT ALL ARE EQUAL. NOT ALL WILL BE SAVED. Our world belongs to the Equals--aristocrats with magical gifts--and all commoners must serve them for ten years. But behind the gates of England's grandest estate lies a power that could break the world. A girl thirsts for love and knowledge. Abi is a servant to England's most powerful family, but her spirit is free. So when she falls for one of their noble-born sons, Abi faces a terrible choice. Uncovering the family's secrets might win her liberty--but will her heart pay the price? A boy dreams of revolution. Abi's brother, Luke, is enslaved in a brutal factory town. Far from his family and cruelly oppressed, he makes friends whose ideals could cost him everything. Now Luke has discovered there may be a power even greater than magic: revolution. And an aristocrat will remake the world with his dark gifts. He is a shadow in the glittering world of the Equals, with mysterious powers no one else understands. But will he liberate--or destroy?"--
Member of
Summary
A tale set in an alternate-universe England where the lower classes must endure 10 years of forced service to magically powered rulers follows the exploits of a rebellious teen and his knowledge-seeking older sister, who spark a rebellion while a dangerous young aristocrat uses dark magic to remake the world.
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2017
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10545229
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
James, Vic
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Dark gifts trilogy
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Aristocracy (Social class)
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Aristocracy (Social class)
  • England
Target audience
adult
Label
Gilded cage, Vic James
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1729431
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 volume
Isbn
9780425284155
Lccn
2016022954
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780425284155
  • (OCoLC)949913256
Label
Gilded cage, Vic James
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1729431
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 volume
Isbn
9780425284155
Lccn
2016022954
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780425284155
  • (OCoLC)949913256

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Little Walnut Creek BranchBorrow it
      835 W. Rundberg Lane, Austin, TX, 78758, US
      30.3632362 -97.6984619
    • Old Quarry BranchBorrow it
      7051 Village Center Dr., Austin, TX, 78731, US
      30.3529975 -97.7551561
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • Spicewood Springs BranchBorrow it
      8637 Spicewood Springs Rd., Austin, TX, 78759, US
      30.4337083 -97.7730809
    • Twin Oaks BranchBorrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
    • Willie Mae Kirk BranchBorrow it
      3101 Oak Springs Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.2729762 -97.699748
    • Windsor Park BranchBorrow it
      5833 Westminster Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3116523 -97.6902298
Processing Feedback ...