Coverart for item
The Resource Faster : how a Jewish driver, an American heiress, and a legendary car beat Hitler's best, Neal Bascomb

Faster : how a Jewish driver, an American heiress, and a legendary car beat Hitler's best, Neal Bascomb

Label
Faster : how a Jewish driver, an American heiress, and a legendary car beat Hitler's best
Title
Faster
Title remainder
how a Jewish driver, an American heiress, and a legendary car beat Hitler's best
Statement of responsibility
Neal Bascomb
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For fans of Boys in the Boat and In the Garden of Beasts, the pulse-pounding story of how a Jewish race car driver and an American speed queen triumphed over Hitler's fearsome Silver Arrows on the eve of World War II"--
  • They were the unlikeliest of heroes. René Dreyfus, a former top driver on the international race car circuit, had been banned from the best teams - and fastest cars - by the mid-1930s because of his Jewish heritage. Charles Weiffenbach, head of the down-on-its-luck automaker Delahaye, was desperately trying to save his company as the world teetered at the brink. And Lucy Schell, the adventurous daughter of an American multi-millionaire, yearned to reclaim the glory of her rally-driving days. As Nazi Germany launched its campaign of racial terror and pushed the world toward war, these three misfits banded together to challenge Hitler's dominance at the apex of motorsport: the Grand Prix. Their quest for redemption culminated in a remarkable race that is still talked about in racing circles to this day - but which, soon after it ended, Hitler attempted to completely erase from history
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
collective biography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bascomb, Neal
Dewey number
796.7209
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
Index
index present
LC call number
GV1029.15
LC item number
.B347 2020
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Automobile racing
  • Automobile racing drivers
  • Discrimination in sports
  • Grand Prix racing
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • HISTORY / Europe
  • HISTORY / Jewish
  • HISTORY / Military / World War II
  • SPORTS & RECREATION / Motor Sports
  • TECHNOLOGY & ENGINEERING / Automotive
  • TECHNOLOGY & ENGINEERING / History
  • TRANSPORTATION / Automotive / History
  • World War (1939-1945)
  • Automobile racing
  • Automobile racing drivers
  • Discrimination in sports
  • Grand Prix racing
  • Social aspects
Label
Faster : how a Jewish driver, an American heiress, and a legendary car beat Hitler's best, Neal Bascomb
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [321]-329) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The look -- The rainmaster -- The American speed queen and the old Gaulish warrior -- Crash -- The one thing -- The shadow -- A very good story -- Rally -- The winged beetle -- "Le drame du Million" -- The duel -- "One of us will die" -- "Find something" -- The dress rehearsal -- Victory at Pau
Control code
on1105149056
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xxiii, 344 pages
Isbn
9781328489876
Lccn
2019033972
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, map
System control number
(OCoLC)1105149056
Label
Faster : how a Jewish driver, an American heiress, and a legendary car beat Hitler's best, Neal Bascomb
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages [321]-329) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The look -- The rainmaster -- The American speed queen and the old Gaulish warrior -- Crash -- The one thing -- The shadow -- A very good story -- Rally -- The winged beetle -- "Le drame du Million" -- The duel -- "One of us will die" -- "Find something" -- The dress rehearsal -- Victory at Pau
Control code
on1105149056
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xxiii, 344 pages
Isbn
9781328489876
Lccn
2019033972
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations, map
System control number
(OCoLC)1105149056

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • St. John BranchBorrow it
      7500 Blessing Ave., Austin, TX, 78752, US
      30.3328231 -97.6937014
    • University Hills BranchBorrow it
      4701 Loyola Ln., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3093017 -97.6664785