Coverart for item
The Resource Eyes : a Susan Shader novel, Joseph Glass

Eyes : a Susan Shader novel, Joseph Glass

Label
Eyes : a Susan Shader novel
Title
Eyes
Title remainder
a Susan Shader novel
Statement of responsibility
Joseph Glass
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • The pseudonymous Glass' first Susan Shader thriller will appeal to fans of James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell. Dr. Shader has had "second sight" ever since her parents died in a tragic accident when she was 10. Now a successful psychiatrist and police consultant, Susan has used her unique talent to help put several vicious criminals behind bars. Her latest case: Chicago is being terrorized by the "Coed Killings," so dubbed because the killer targets young female college athletes. His gory trademark is removing the victim's eyes and taking the eyeballs with him. Susan wants to help, but when her prediction of the killer's identity leads to a devastating tragedy, she finds herself reviled by the media. Then the killer strikes again, and Susan's cop buddy, Detective David Gold, begs her to make one last effort to nail the murderer. Nail-biting suspense, a roller-coaster plot, blood-and-guts murder scenes, and moral dilemmas make Eyes a top-notch suspense thriller and an impressive debut. ((Reviewed November 15, 1997)) -- Emily Melton
  • A touching, surprisingly credible central character--a woman psychiatrist with second sight--anchors this new series kickoff (by a pseudonymous writer described as "a New York Times bestselling author"), but the story itself, about a serial killer who strangles women athletes and gouges out their eyes, is burdened with too much familiar or implausible baggage. The divorced mother of a six-year-old son who lives with his father in California, Dr. Susan Shader practices in Chicago and consults with the police on high-profile murder cases. Although her psychic powers zero in on a college janitor as a likely suspect in the murders of three young women, the reader has already been tipped off that he isn't the killer, so it comes as no surprise when, after he hangs himself in jail, an another eyeless corpse crops up. It doesn't add to the suspense that the real villain is one of those brilliant, endlessly resourceful lunatics who know how to finance their crime sprees. Dr. Shader's relationships with her son, her newswoman roommate and a police colleague are well drawn, as are her mixed feelings about her ESP, but Glass has let her down by not showcasing them in a more plausible story. 50,000 first printing. (Jan.)
  • Three college coeds have been brutally murdered, and the city of Chicago is panic-stricken. The strangulation and ritual eye-gouging in each case point to the police's greatest nightmare--a serial killer. Detective David Gold calls in Dr. Susan Shader, noted psychiatrist and criminal profiler, to help with the case. Susan is also psychic, and her second sight plays a crucial role in helping to identify the killer. But matters take an unexpected turn when the suspect commits suicide and the carnage continues. Digging deeper, Susan uncovers a startling connection between the murder victims and, in so doing, puts her own life and that of her six-year-old son in mortal danger. Glass, a pseudonym, effectively builds the suspense through an unusual and engaging cast of characters in this well-crafted tale. A sound choice for all mystery collections. [Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 9/1/97.]--Maria A. Perez-Stable, Western Michigan Univ. Libs., Kalamazoo
  • A serial killer is stalking Chicago coeds. So far, he's murdered and mutilated three, and neither Detective David Gold nor his consultant, psychic psychiatrist Dr. Susan Shader, has a clue about his identity. But with the fourth victim, an inoffensive housewife who has no obvious parallels with the three students, comes a break in the case--though one that leads to a disastrously mistaken arrest--and the fifth killing, of a University of Chicago dropout, cracks it wide open. Now at last Susan's gift of second sight, coupled with Gold's detective work, is enough to finger the killer just as he's reaching out for his next victim. Despite some streaks of purple prose ("It was easy to see that her long legs led to a rich, sensual pelvis") and some schoolboy errors (an old-time psychic is hailed for having predicted the Lindbergh kidnapping and the death of Hindenburg years after the facts), the search for the killer is steadily engrossing. But once the perp slips through official fingers and takes his revenge on Susan by striking at her weakest point, the case turns hackneyed, overwrought, and toothless to anybody who believes the claim that this will be only the first of Susan's adventures. Still, Glass, whose pseudonym allegedly conceals a bestselling author, knows how to keep you reading through all the complaints. (Kirkus Reviews, December 15, 1997)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
002827
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1946-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Glass, Joseph
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Susan Shader novels
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women psychiatrists
  • Psychic ability
  • Serial murderers
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a Susan Shader novel
Label
Eyes : a Susan Shader novel, Joseph Glass
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
309334
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xviii, 344 pages
Isbn
9780375500169
Isbn Type
(hardcover : acid-free paper)
Lccn
97025786
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(Sirsi) i9780375500169
Label
Eyes : a Susan Shader novel, Joseph Glass
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
309334
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xviii, 344 pages
Isbn
9780375500169
Isbn Type
(hardcover : acid-free paper)
Lccn
97025786
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(Sirsi) i9780375500169

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
Processing Feedback ...