The Resource Every exquisite thing, by Matthew Quick

Every exquisite thing, by Matthew Quick

Label
Every exquisite thing
Title
Every exquisite thing
Statement of responsibility
by Matthew Quick
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Nanette O'Hare, a star student and athlete, is given a mysterious out-of-print cult classic novel by her beloved teacher that sparks the rebel within her, but as she befriends the reclusive author and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price
Storyline
Tone
Character
Award
YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2017.
Review
  • Grades 9-12 Nanette is by most accounts a success: she does well in school, has popular friends, is a brilliant soccer player, and already has college recruiters knocking down her door. So why isn’t she happy? When her favorite teacher gives her an out-of-print cult novel, The Bubblegum Reaper, the answer starts to shake loose. Fixated on the novel’s enigmatic message of quitting—Life? School? Convention?—she seeks out the author, who eventually introduces her to Alex, another lover of the novel. Together, they puzzle over the novel’s mysteries until their friendship builds to a touching romance. But when Alex starts taking the novel’s message too far, Nanette starts to see the harm in taking an intransigent stand. Quick creates beautifully well-rounded characters, particularly Nanette, whose first-person narrative, rich with wry observations and a kaleidoscope of meaningful emotions, offers great insight into the mind of a teen on a sometimes-sluggish, spiraling path toward sorting herself out. In the end, Nanette finds there are no easy answers, and maybe none at all, but that’s perhaps the most powerful lesson. -- Hunter, Sarah (Reviewed 3/1/2016) (Booklist, vol 112, number 13, p75)
  • /* Starred Review */ Gr 10 Up—Quick's nuanced story of rebellion and its cost will appeal to fans of Stephen Chbosky and John Green. Nanette O'Hare is drifting through high school playing her role as good girl perfectly when she is given a copy of a cult classic novel called The Bubblegum Reaper. Realizing the path she's on is not of her own choosing, she seeks out the reclusive author and becomes romantically involved with the troubled Alex, another fan. Nanette acts out against her quiet suburban life, only to realize those choices also come with a price. Nanette's development, from the first spark of independence and the initial rush of her relationship with Alex to her subsequent concern and later dread and even her experiment with a return to conformity, rings very true, as does her selfish naïveté in believing rebellion is the one path to happiness. Filled with literary allusions to Greek tragedies and The Catcher in the Rye, this work will be a hit with fans of Natalie Standiford's How to Say Goodbye in Robot (Scholastic, 2009). VERDICT Like the many anticonformity books before it, this will find a dedicated audience among teen readers.—Elizabeth Saxton, Tiffin, OH --Elizabeth Saxton (Reviewed 03/01/2016) (School Library Journal, vol 62, issue 3, p156)
  • /* Starred Review */ The power of the written word is on full display as junior Nanette O’Hare upends her privileged, “normal” life after discovering an out-of-print cult classic. Countless rereads of The Bubblegum Reaper lead her to question her place in the world and everyone’s expectations of her. She rebels by quitting the soccer team and distancing herself from her classmates in favor of befriending Booker, the book’s elderly author, and Alex, another teenage Bubblegum Reaper fan. Alex is a talented poet but a troubled young man, and their ill-fated romance leaves Nanette struggling to move forward; halfway into the novel, she begins to speak and think of herself in the third person at the suggestion of her therapist, June, in an effort to “See self as someone else.” Quick (Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock) continues to excel at writing thought-provoking stories about nonconformity. As June says at one point, “Sometimes you just have to pick a direction and make mistakes.” Through Nanette’s eyes, Quick paints a compelling portrait of a sympathetic teenager going through the trial-and-error process of growing up. Ages 15–up. Agent: Douglas Stewart, Sterling Lord Literistic. (May) --Staff (Reviewed 02/22/2016) (Publishers Weekly, vol 263, issue 08, p)
  • After a teacher gifts her a copy of a cult classic novel, student-athlete Nanette O'Hare rebels against her manufactured white, middle-class lifestyle. The fictional cult novel she receives echoes The Catcher in the Rye in reputation. Soon enough Nanette consumes the book, obsessed with its open-ended conclusion. When she befriends the author, a recluse named Nigel Booker, Nanette questions her tendency to conform to the demands of her parents and school life. "I knew I was privileged, but what good was that if I still didn't get to make my own choices?" Acting the matchmaker, Booker introduces Nanette to Alex, a like-minded young poet with a destructive streak to whom she finds herself drawn. "Suddenly, I wanted to be attractive, adored, desired." With a bracing, confrontational style, Quick exposes new angles to this angst-ridden teenage prototype, but the first half of the novel is spent developing a familiar narrative. Nanette's story truly begins to excel in the latter half. As Nanette's new relationships demand more from her, the author plumbs the depths of her isolation. Catharsis here equals a journey of self-sabotage and self-discovery: "You're at a time in your life when you need to feel and believe wildly—that's just the way it is," Booker tells her. Rare moments like these make Nanette's story soar. A strong, well-written female protagonist sets this coming-of-age novel apart. (Fiction. 15 & up)(Kirkus Reviews, February 15, 2016)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10488992
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1973-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Quick, Matthew
Index
no index present
Intended audience
900L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
UG
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 10
  • 12
Reading level
5.5
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Study program name
Accelerated Reader AR
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Books and reading
  • Self-realization
  • Authors
  • Teacher-student relationships
  • Books and reading
  • Self-realization
  • Authors
  • Teacher-student relationships
  • Teenagers
  • Authors
  • Books and reading
  • Self-realization
  • Teacher-student relationships
  • Teenagers
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Every exquisite thing, by Matthew Quick
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"Author of The Silver Linings Playbook"--Dust Jacket
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1526951
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition. First International Edition.
Extent
265 pages
Isbn
9780316379595
Lccn
2015011641
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780316379595
  • (OCoLC)910072962
Label
Every exquisite thing, by Matthew Quick
Publication
Note
"Author of The Silver Linings Playbook"--Dust Jacket
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1526951
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition. First International Edition.
Extent
265 pages
Isbn
9780316379595
Lccn
2015011641
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780316379595
  • (OCoLC)910072962

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • Terrazas BranchBorrow it
      1105 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2599154 -97.7334621
    • Willie Mae Kirk BranchBorrow it
      3101 Oak Springs Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.2729762 -97.699748
    • Windsor Park BranchBorrow it
      5833 Westminster Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3116523 -97.6902298
Processing Feedback ...