Coverart for item
The Resource Emmy and the rats in the Belfry, Lynne Jonell ; illustrations by Jonathan Bean

Emmy and the rats in the Belfry, Lynne Jonell ; illustrations by Jonathan Bean

Label
Emmy and the rats in the Belfry
Title
Emmy and the rats in the Belfry
Statement of responsibility
Lynne Jonell ; illustrations by Jonathan Bean
Creator
Contributor
Illustrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Ten-year-old Emmy and her rodent friends must fend off the evil former nanny, Miss Barmy, as they search for Ratty's missing mother
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Character
Review
  • Grades 3-6 This adventure picks up where Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls (2008) left off. Emmy is in trouble once more, and evil Miss Barmy and her devoted swain, Cheswick, now rats, are still after her. Emmy makes a trip to Schenectady with her orphan and rodent friends and deals with those kisses and slurps that turn humans into rats and (maybe) back to original form. This worthy addition to the series is busy and full of surprises, though readers may want to start at the beginning to see how Emmy got herself into this fix. Again, there’s flip art—bats! -- Cooper, Ilene (Reviewed 06-01-2011) (Booklist, vol 107, number 19, p92)
  • Ten-year-old Emmy Addison returns with rodent pal Raston Rat to prove she's a responsible kid who still has what it takes to outwit her former nanny, the devious Jane Barmy, in this fast-paced sequel to Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls (2008). Fresh from their unscrupulous ventures three weeks ago, when they were transformed into rats, shameless Jane Barmy and her besotted partner in crime, Cheswick Vole, resurface, intent on revenge. While vandalizing Emmy's bedroom to frame her for irresponsibility, the dastardly duo learn Professor Capybara has developed patches embedded with kisses from Raston's sister Sissy that can turn them back into full-sized humans. Together they steal Capybara's formula, dupe Emmy's parents into sending her to visit her great aunts in Schenectady and trick Sissy to go with Emmy to find her "Ratmom." In Schenectady, bats "ratnap" Sissy, who's forced to produce more patches while Emmy discovers her elderly great aunts barely surviving on their own. Using every transforming rodent trick (bites, kisses and reverse aging tears), Emmy and Raston crash a river-rat bar, scale a batty belfry and stow away on a train, attempting to rescue Sissy and save the aunts. The complicated, improbable but highly entertaining plot showcases brave, responsible Emmy and hilarious, irresponsible Raston. Bats appropriately swirl in the flip-book feature. Fans of Emmy and Raston will welcome their latest escapades. (Fantasy. 9-12)(Kirkus Reviews, June 15, 2011)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10011839
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Jonell, Lynne
Index
no index present
Intended audience
740L
Intended audience source
Lexile
Interest level
MG
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 3
  • 6
Reading level
4.8
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Bean, Jonathan
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Emmy and the rat series
Series volume
0003
Study program name
Accelerated Reader AR
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Rats
  • Rodents
  • Nannies
  • Magic
  • Revenge
  • Rodents
  • Humorous stories
Target audience
pre adolescent
Label
Emmy and the rats in the Belfry, Lynne Jonell ; illustrations by Jonathan Bean
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
817937
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
372 pages
Isbn
9780805091830
Lccn
2010047507
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(Sirsi) i9780805091830
Label
Emmy and the rats in the Belfry, Lynne Jonell ; illustrations by Jonathan Bean
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
817937
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
372 pages
Isbn
9780805091830
Lccn
2010047507
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(Sirsi) i9780805091830

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Old Quarry BranchBorrow it
      7051 Village Center Dr., Austin, TX, 78731, US
      30.3529975 -97.7551561
Processing Feedback ...