Coverart for item
The Resource Emerald labyrinth : a scientist's adventures in the jungles of the Congo, Eli Greenbaum

Emerald labyrinth : a scientist's adventures in the jungles of the Congo, Eli Greenbaum

Label
Emerald labyrinth : a scientist's adventures in the jungles of the Congo
Title
Emerald labyrinth
Title remainder
a scientist's adventures in the jungles of the Congo
Statement of responsibility
Eli Greenbaum
Title variation
Emerald labyrinth
Title variation remainder
a scientists adventures in the jungles of the Congo
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Emerald Labyrinth is a scientist and adventurer's chronicle of years exploring the rainforests of sub-Saharan Africa. The richly varied habitats of the Democratic Republic of the Congo offer a wealth of animal, plant, chemical, and medical discoveries. But the country also has a deeply troubled colonial past and a complicated political present. Author Eli Greenbaum is a leading expert in sub-Saharan herpetology--snakes, lizards, and frogs--who brings a sense of wonder to the question of how science works in the twenty-first century. Along the way he comes face to face with spitting cobras, silverback mountain gorillas, wild elephants, and the teenaged armies of AK-47-toting fighters engaged in the continent's longest-running war. As a bellwether of the climate and biodiversity crises now facing the planet, the Congo holds the key to our planet's future. Writing in the tradition of books like The Lost City of Z, Greenbaum seeks out the creatures struggling to survive in a war-torn, environmentally threatened country. Emerald Labyrinth is an extraordinary book about the enormous challenges and hard-won satisfactions of doing science in one of the least known, least hospitable places on earth."--Amazon.com
Summary
An expert in herpetology and evolutionary genetics describes the rich and varied habitats of the Democratic Republic of the Congo which are home to a wide array of animal, plant and medical discoveries and also discusses the country’s troubled past and complicated present
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
contains biographical information
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10603447
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1974-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Greenbaum, Eli
Dewey number
591.7096724
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • maps
  • plates
Index
index present
LC call number
QL337.C58
LC item number
G74 2018
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Greenbaum, Eli
  • Animal diversity
  • Amphibians
  • Reptiles
  • Natural history
  • Congo (Democratic Republic)
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a scientist's adventures in the jungles of the Congo
Label
Emerald labyrinth : a scientist's adventures in the jungles of the Congo, Eli Greenbaum
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
No joy in the brilliance of sunshine -- King Kong of Kahuzi Volcano -- The wrong place at the wrong time -- The rats of Miki -- A vampire in Virunga -- Wandege's eye -- The murderer of Mugegema -- Congolization -- This man is not right in the head -- Frogs in elephant footprints -- The death of Asukulu
Control code
ocn982090721
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
xv, 329 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781512600971
Lccn
2017012729
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations (some color), maps
System control number
(OCoLC)982090721
Label
Emerald labyrinth : a scientist's adventures in the jungles of the Congo, Eli Greenbaum
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
No joy in the brilliance of sunshine -- King Kong of Kahuzi Volcano -- The wrong place at the wrong time -- The rats of Miki -- A vampire in Virunga -- Wandege's eye -- The murderer of Mugegema -- Congolization -- This man is not right in the head -- Frogs in elephant footprints -- The death of Asukulu
Control code
ocn982090721
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
xv, 329 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781512600971
Lccn
2017012729
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations (some color), maps
System control number
(OCoLC)982090721

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
Processing Feedback ...