Coverart for item
The Resource Don't close your eyes : a novel, Holly Seddon

Don't close your eyes : a novel, Holly Seddon

Label
Don't close your eyes : a novel
Title
Don't close your eyes
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Holly Seddon
Title variation
  • Do not close your eyes
  • Dont close your eyes
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "A juicy, powerful read featuring twin sisters who have drifted apart, and the shocking family secrets that bind them--for readers of The Woman in Cabin 10 and I Let You Go When the past knocks, someone must answer. In a bustling suburban neighborhood in Manchester, England, sits an unassuming house. There is no sign of life behind the unwashed windows, but Robin Marshall is inside. Driven by fears and obsessions, racked by anxiety, Robin is frantically pushing her body through punishing workouts, eating little, haunted by what happened to her family when she was a girl. Robin's only connection to the outside world is through her rear windows and the lives she spies upon in the apartment house across the way. Then a stranger starts pounding on her door. Sarah Marshall is Robin's twin, estranged from her sister after their parents' betrayal and a violation at the hands of a man she should have been able to trust. Sarah has recently lost custody of the child she loves more than anything and has set off on her own, hoping that somewhere in England she can find Robin, the braver twin, the rock star, the survivor, the savior. These two young women, polar opposites, cannot go on unless they reckon with the past. While Sarah, slowly unraveling, searches for her sister's hiding place, Robin sees another life hanging in the balance in the lighted windows across the street. It is a life only Robin can save--as long as she never looks away. In a novel that is stunning in its twists, shocks, and gripping psychological suspense, two sisters find themselves on the razor's edge of sanity. Untold secrets, a ghastly lie, and suffocating guilt hold them back. Only one astounding act can set them free. And one last revelation will leave readers gasping in surprise. Advance praise for Don't Close Your Eyes "[A] smartly plotted psychological thriller. [Holly] Seddon skillfully pieces together the now-estranged twins' lives. Plenty of last-minute bombshells await."--Publishers Weekly Praise for Holly Seddon's Try Not to Breathe "A razor-sharp, fast-paced plot and wonderfully complex characters. Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense."--Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of I Know a Secret "Delivers the high-quality thrills and intriguing characters that readers demand in the best of psychological thrillers."--Associated Press "A fast-paced debut about long-buried secrets and tangled truths."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Where They Found Her "Try not to breathe, try not to make plans, try not to commit to anything in fact till you have finished [Holly Seddon's] debut novel, because we must warn you now--you'll be fully hooked from page one."--Glamour (U.K.) "Fascinating. Seddon's storytelling skills are strong and the book is engrossing."--Kirkus Reviews "A brilliant, beautifully written thriller."--Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors "This gripping thriller about family and redemption will keep readers engaged to the very end."--Publishers Weekly"--
  • "Robin and Sarah haven't spoken in years. Robin can't leave her house. A complete shut-in, she spends her days spying on her neighbors, subtly meddling in their lives. But she can't keep her demons out forever. Someone from her past has returned, and is desperate to get inside. Sarah can't go home. Her husband has kicked her out, forcibly denying her access to their toddler. Sarah will do anything to get her daughter back, but she's unraveling under the mounting pressure of concealing the dark secrets of her past. And her lies are catching up to her. The novel takes readers back in time to witness the complex family dynamics that formed Robin and Sarah into the emotionally damaged, estranged young women they've become. As the gripping and intricate layers of their shared past are slowly peeled away, the shocks and twists will keep readers breathless long after the final page"--
Summary
A shut-in who meddles in her neighbors' lives and her twin, whose secrets have separated her from her husband and child, reevaluate complex family dynamics that have led to their respective circumstances before their lives are shattered by terrible revelations
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10563501
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Seddon, Holly
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Family secrets
  • Twin sisters
  • FICTION / Suspense
  • FICTION / Contemporary Women
Target audience
adult
Label
Don't close your eyes : a novel, Holly Seddon
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn961002686
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
322 pages
Isbn
9781101885895
Lccn
2017026070
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)961002686
Label
Don't close your eyes : a novel, Holly Seddon
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn961002686
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
First U.S. edition.
Extent
322 pages
Isbn
9781101885895
Lccn
2017026070
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)961002686

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Little Walnut Creek BranchBorrow it
      835 W. Rundberg Lane, Austin, TX, 78758, US
      30.3632362 -97.6984619
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Manchaca Road Branch Borrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
Processing Feedback ...