Coverart for item
The Resource Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick, Maya Dusenbery

Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick, Maya Dusenbery

Label
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
Title
Doing harm
Title remainder
the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
Statement of responsibility
Maya Dusenbery
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com, reveals how gender bias infects every level of medicine and healthcare today--leading to inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment that threatens women's lives and well-being. Modern medicine is failing women. Half of all American women suffer from at least one chronic health condition--from autoimmune disorders and asthma to depression and Alzheimer's disease--and the numbers are increasing. A wealth of research has revealed that women often exhibit different symptoms than their male counterparts, suffer disproportionately from many debilitating conditions, and may react differently to prescription drugs and other therapies. Yet more than twenty years after the law decreed that women be included in all health-related research and drug development, doctors are still operating with a lingering knowledge gap when it comes to women's health. And they're not immune to unconscious biases and stereotypes that can undermine the doctor-patient relationship. The consequences can be catastrophic: Too often, women are misdiagnosed, poorly treated, and find their complaints dismissed as "just stress" or "all in your head." Meanwhile, they're getting sicker. Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with experts within and outside the medical establishment, and personal stories from regular women to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today. In addition to offering a clear-eyed explanation of the root causes of this insidious and entrenched bias and laying out its effects, she suggests concrete steps we can take to cure it. Eye-opening and long-overdue, Doing Harm is an empowering call to action for health care providers and all women"--
Summary
The editorial director of the award-winning site Feministing.com explains how gender biases are negatively impacting every level of medicine and health care today, arguing that incorrect diagnoses and treatments are threatening women's lives
Award
Minnesota Book Award for General Nonfiction, 2019.
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10622596
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Dusenbery, Maya
Dewey number
613/.04244
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Women
  • Sexism in medicine
  • Health education
  • HEALTH & FITNESS
  • SOCIAL SCIENCE
  • MEDICAL
  • Health education
  • Sexism in medicine
  • Women
  • Women
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
Label
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick, Maya Dusenbery
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1914698
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 volume
Isbn
9780062470805
Lccn
2017019560
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780062470805
  • (OCoLC)952207120
Label
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick, Maya Dusenbery
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1914698
Edition
First edition.
Extent
1 volume
Isbn
9780062470805
Lccn
2017019560
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780062470805
  • (OCoLC)952207120

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Manchaca Road Branch Borrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • Southeast BranchBorrow it
      5803 Nuckols Crossing Rd., Austin, TX, 78744, US
      30.1876256 -97.7419319
    • Twin Oaks Branch Borrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
    • University Hills BranchBorrow it
      4701 Loyola Ln., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3093017 -97.6664785
Processing Feedback ...