Coverart for item
The Resource Dictionary stories : short fictions and other findings, Jez Burrows

Dictionary stories : short fictions and other findings, Jez Burrows

Label
Dictionary stories : short fictions and other findings
Title
Dictionary stories
Title remainder
short fictions and other findings
Statement of responsibility
Jez Burrows
Creator
Author
Illustrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Jez Burrows opened the New Oxford American Dictionary and sat, mystified. Instead of the definition of "study" he was looking for, he found himself drawn to the strangely conspicuous, curiously melodramatic sentence that followed it: "He perched on the edge of the bed, a study in confusion and misery." It read like a tiny piece of fiction on the lam and hiding out in the dictionary--and it wasn't alone. Was it possible to reunite these fugitive fictions? To combine and remix example sentences to form new works? With this spark and a handful of stories shared online, Dictionary Stories was born. This genre-bending and wildly inventive collection glows with humor, emotion, and intellect. Effortlessly transcending sentence level, Burrows lights between the profound and the absurd, transporting readers into moments, worlds, and experiences of remarkable variety. Featuring original illustrations by the author, Dictionary Stories is a giddy celebration of the beauty and flexibility of language."--Amazon.com
Summary
A collection of very short stories composed entirely of example sentences from various dictionaries, perfect for fans of The Lover's Dictionary and The Interrogative Mood: A Novel?
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10651148
Cataloging source
YDX
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Burrows, Jez
Dewey number
[Fic]
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
short stories
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Short stories, American
  • Encyclopedias and dictionaries
  • Vocabulary
  • Minimalism (Literature)
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
short fictions and other findings
Label
Dictionary stories : short fictions and other findings, Jez Burrows
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn995273497
Dimensions
19 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xi, 208 pages
Isbn
9780062652614
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)995273497
Label
Dictionary stories : short fictions and other findings, Jez Burrows
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn995273497
Dimensions
19 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
xi, 208 pages
Isbn
9780062652614
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)995273497

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Little Walnut Creek BranchBorrow it
      835 W. Rundberg Lane, Austin, TX, 78758, US
      30.3632362 -97.6984619
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Manchaca Road Branch Borrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • Old Quarry Branch Borrow it
      7051 Village Center Dr., Austin, TX, 78731, US
      30.3529975 -97.7551561
    • Pleasant Hill Branch Borrow it
      211 E. William Cannon Blvd., Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.1922461 -97.7771661
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
Processing Feedback ...