Coverart for item
The Resource Devious, Lisa Jackson

Devious, Lisa Jackson

Label
Devious
Title
Devious
Statement of responsibility
Lisa Jackson
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
When the body of young novice Sister Camille is found garroted in St. Marguerites cathedral, New Orleans Detectives Bentz and Montoya are called in. Bentz is sure Father O'Toole is their man. But there are other suspects, too, including a ruthless murderer believed to have died years ago
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Review
  • It isn’t a crime scene; it’s a reunion. At least that is what New Orleans Police Detective Rick Bentz thinks when he and his partner, Reuben Montoya, arrive at St. Marguerite’s Cathedral, where Camille Renard, about to take her vows as a nun, is found brutally murdered. Not only did Montoya know the victim from high school; he also knows St. Marguerite’s Father Francis O’Toole, who is rumored to have broken at least one of his vows with Camille. But Father Francis had some competition for Camille, if what her sister Val says is true about Val’s soon to be ex-husband Slade Houston, who unexpectedly arrived in New Orleans the night Camille was murdered. As Montoya and Bentz work to untangle the complicated relationships in their latest case, they discover that the killer has more than one nun on his list. Jackson brings back her detecting duo of Bentz and Montoya (Malice, 2009) for a nail-biting tale of dangerous secrets and deadly passions that, despite an overstuffed plot, should prove irresistible to fans of gritty, graphic suspense. -- Charles, John (Reviewed 03-01-2011) (Booklist, vol 107, number 13, p31)
  • Someone is strangling novice nuns in Jackson's terrifying if overwrought seventh Bentz and Montoya novel (after Malice). When NOPD homicide detectives Reuben Montoya and Rick Bentz arrive at the first crime scene, the chapel of St. Marguerite's Convent, Montoya recognizes the murder victim, Sister Camille, as his old high school girlfriend, Cammie Renard. In another coincidence, the novice sister who discovered Camille's body, Lucia Costa, once dated Montoya's brother. On top of that, one of the prime suspects is a high school classmate of Montoya's, Fr. Francis O'Toole, who may have had an affair with the victim. As Cammie's sister, Valerie, a former Texas cop now a New Orleans Garden District B&B owner, struggles with a surprise visit from her estranged husband, more nuns succumb to a crazed killer. Val learns more than she bargained for about her past—and Cammie's—at a nearby orphanage in a creepy thriller sure to please Jackson's many fans. (Apr.) --Staff (Reviewed February 28, 2011) (Publishers Weekly, vol 258, issue 09, p)
  • A nun is found murdered, and New Orleans detectives Rick Bentz and Reuben Montoya (Malice ) are on the case, one that reminds them of a decade-ago crime spree. The same day that Val Houston learns her sister has been murdered, her estranged husband, Slade, shows up. Against the wishes of the detectives, Val and Slade throw themselves into solving the crime while reigniting their marriage. But there's evil out there that wants to separate them in a permanent way. VERDICT One of the many things that keep this fan coming back are Jackson's subtle hints of what's to come. Her seventh title starring Bentz and Montoya is more thriller than romantic suspense and will satisfy series fans as well as readers who enjoy JT Ellison, Lisa Gardner, and Linda Fairstein.— Debbie Haupt, St. Charles City-Cty. Lib. Dist., MO --Debbie Haupt (Reviewed January 1, 2011) (Library Journal, vol 136, issue 1, p84)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
381919
Cataloging source
UPZ
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Jackson, Lisa
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Bentz and Montoya novel
Series volume
0007
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Police
  • Nuns
  • Clergy
  • Serial murderers
  • New Orleans (La.)
Target audience
adult
Label
Devious, Lisa Jackson
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
802956
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
439 pages
Isbn
9780758225658
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780758225658
  • (OCoLC)699535787
Label
Devious, Lisa Jackson
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
802956
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
439 pages
Isbn
9780758225658
Isbn Type
(hardcover)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9780758225658
  • (OCoLC)699535787

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Southeast BranchBorrow it
      5803 Nuckols Crossing Rd., Austin, TX, 78744, US
      30.1876256 -97.7419319
    • Windsor Park BranchBorrow it
      5833 Westminster Dr., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3116523 -97.6902298
Processing Feedback ...