Coverart for item
The Resource Death and the maiden, Frank Tallis

Death and the maiden, Frank Tallis

Label
Death and the maiden
Title
Death and the maiden
Statement of responsibility
Frank Tallis
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award-nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de siecle Vienna, it's perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss. Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she's gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera's imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna's powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who's loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement. PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS'S VIENNA THRILLERS "[A] captivating historical series."--The New York Times Book Review "[A] riveting read. with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail."--The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight "Chock-full of tantalizing elements."--The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets "Engrossing. immensely satisfying."--The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies"--
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10146038
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Tallis, Frank
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6120.A44
LC item number
D37 2012
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
A Max Liebermann mystery
Series volume
0006
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Liebermann, Max (Fictitious character)
  • Psychoanalysts
  • Police
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical
  • FICTION / Suspense
  • FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
  • Vienna (Austria)
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a Max Liebermann mystery
Label
Death and the maiden, Frank Tallis
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • Originally published in paperback in the U.K. by Century in 2011
  • "A Random House trade paperback original."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
905492
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
373 pages
Isbn
9780812983340
Lccn
2012001662
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(Sirsi) i9780812983340
Label
Death and the maiden, Frank Tallis
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • Originally published in paperback in the U.K. by Century in 2011
  • "A Random House trade paperback original."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
905492
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
373 pages
Isbn
9780812983340
Lccn
2012001662
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(Sirsi) i9780812983340

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
Processing Feedback ...