Coverart for item
The Resource Day in, day out, Héctor Aguilar Camín ; translation by Chandler Thompson

Day in, day out, Héctor Aguilar Camín ; translation by Chandler Thompson

Label
Day in, day out
Title
Day in, day out
Statement of responsibility
Héctor Aguilar Camín ; translation by Chandler Thompson
Creator
Contributor
Author
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A drunken confession. Years dissolve in a blur of sex, drugs, and violence. With echoes of Raymond Chandler's The Big Sleep, Héctor Aguilar Camín's Day In, Day Out explores the lives of two darkly alluring sisters and the men pulled into their orbit. While attending the funeral of an old acquaintance, dissolute writer Serrano runs into a former rival, a doctor of criminology known simply as el Pato. The encounter throws Serrano back to the erotically charged bohemian nightlife of 1970's Mexico City, when both men vied for the attention of Liliana Montoya, an enigmatic nightclub singer who may have ordered a murder to defend her sister's honor. As Serrano digs into the past filled with excess and deceit, he finds himself questioning Liliana's sanity - and his own. Day In, Day Out is a vivid chronicle of lust, obsession and madness that will appeal to fans of literary crime novels and Latin American fiction
Member of
Summary
In the tradition of Raymond Chandler, James M. Cain, and David Goodis, Héctor Aguilar Camín brings us a hard-boiled account of sex, corruption, and murder, where the line between memory and madness is blurred. The setting is Mexico. While attending the funeral of an old acquaintance, dissolute writer Serrano runs into a former rival. As Serrano digs into a past filled with excess and deceit, he finds himself questioning his own sanity
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10603319
Cataloging source
ON8
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1946-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Aguilar Camín, Héctor
Dewey number
863/.64
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1939-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Thompson, Chandler
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Corruption
  • Murder
  • Sisters
  • Mexico
  • FICTION / Crime
  • FICTION / Noir
Target audience
adult
Label
Day in, day out, Héctor Aguilar Camín ; translation by Chandler Thompson
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1008569241
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
First English language edition.
Extent
123 pages
Isbn
9781943156269
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1008569241
Label
Day in, day out, Héctor Aguilar Camín ; translation by Chandler Thompson
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1008569241
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
First English language edition.
Extent
123 pages
Isbn
9781943156269
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1008569241

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • Terrazas Branch Borrow it
      1105 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX, 78702, US
      30.2599154 -97.7334621
Processing Feedback ...