The Resource Crier's war, Nina Varela ; map by Maxime Plasse

Crier's war, Nina Varela ; map by Maxime Plasse

Label
Crier's war
Title
Crier's war
Statement of responsibility
Nina Varela ; map by Maxime Plasse
Title variation
Criers war
Creator
Contributor
Author
Cartographer
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, took over the estates of their owners and bent the human race to their will. Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the house of the sovereign, dreams of avenging the death of her family...by killing the sovereign's daughter, Lady Crier. Crier, who was Made to be beautiful, to be flawless. And to take over the work of her father. Crier had been preparing to do just that--to inherit her father's rule over the land. But that was before she was betrothed to Scyre Kinok, who seems to have a thousand secrets. That was before she discovered her father isn't as benevolent as she thought. That was before she met Ayla"--
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • Grades 9-12 In a world where alchemy has led to the creation of Automae—humanoid beings who are faster, stronger, and smarter than humans—Ayla is a servant, living each day for the sole purpose of seeking revenge for her family’s death at the order of the Automae king. By killing the king’s daughter, Lady Crier, Ayla will finally see justice for her family. When Ayla accidentally saves Lady Crier’s life and is appointed as her handmaiden, it seems like the perfect opportunity. However, Ayla didn’t count on Crier’s curiosity, her kindness, or her passion for improving the human condition. Crier is meant to marry Kinok, the leader of a radical Automae group the king wishes to keep under his thumb. However, Crier finds herself drawn to Ayla, the brazen human with dark eyes. As the relationship between Crier and Ayla grows more complicated, a plot begins to unfold that could put the entire kingdom at stake. Rife with mystery, romantic tension, and political intrigue, Varela’s debut novel is perfect for readers craving queer fantasy with dense world building. -- Rebecca Gonner (Reviewed 8/1/2019) (Booklist, vol 115, number 22, p73)
  • Gr 9 Up—Crier is an Automae, made by the King of Rabu to become the perfect successor. Ayla is human, desperate for revenge against the king for her family. But when the two meet, will they set aside their differences for the connection they feel with each other, or will they lead one another to their doom? As the two slowly inch closer to one another, the political climate of this world around them continues to fester. Readers will find themselves immersed in a sapphic story shrouded in political intrigue. Crier and Ayla both find themselves dealing with inner turmoil while their crafted world slowly descends into chaos. Politics plays a major role in the story as Varela pulls from historical tactics and ideas. This book takes the time to build the world and highlight important instances that led to the humans being overthrown by the creations they made. As the history and the present unwind, choices will be made that will forever change the future. VERDICT A lush #OwnVoices fantasy debut with science fiction elements and LGBTQIA+ representation, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass.—Zoe Leonarczyk, Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL --Zoe Leonarczyk (Reviewed 09/01/2019) (School Library Journal, vol 65, issue 8, p132)
  • Fifty years ago, the Automae—created with alchemical magick, automaton components, and flesh and bone—won the War of Kinds, subsequently enslaving their human creators. Crier, the Designed daughter of Sovereign Hesod, an Automata, prepares for a politically advantageous marriage to Kinok, a philosophizing war hero. After Kinok uses blueprints to reveal that Crier is Flawed, she is thrown into an existential crisis, even as she questions Kinok’s ultimate objectives. Meanwhile, 16-year-old human revolutionary Ayla schemes to kill Crier in order to avenge the murders of her family by Hesod’s soldiers. But after Ayla saves Crier’s life and is rewarded with a coveted position as her handmaiden, the two young women must confront their shifting emotions about human and Automae coexistence, even as the tension between their Kinds builds toward war. Tropes, including an enemies-to-lovers plotline, prevail in Varela’s dystopian debut, which employs increasingly captivating political machinations among the intricately linked characters to create a suspenseful read with particular appeal to fans of queer romance. Ages 14–up. Agent: Patrice Caldwell, Howard Morhaim Literary. (Oct.)
			 --Staff (Reviewed 10/14/2019) (Publishers Weekly, vol 266, issue 41, p)
  • War brews between humans and their automaton overlords. In a nigh-unrecognizable world, humans are kept as servants on large estates controlled by Automa, impossibly advanced creations who have recently seized power. The history of how artificial intelligence took over develops in interstitial chapters told by various historians while tensions rise in the present. Humans have various skin tones, including swarthy and brown, but racial categories don't seem to matter in a world where the main axis of power is human versus Made. Crier is the daughter of Sovereign Hesod, who loves appropriating human culture while brutally oppressing the people under his rule. She is also betrothed to Kinok, an Automa with more separatist beliefs toward humans as well as a plan to make him and his kin invulnerable. Meanwhile Ayla, a human girl who lost her family to Automa violence, takes a job as Crier's handmaiden in an attempt to take them down from the inside. Dizzying political machinations intertwine with a burgeoning romance between mistress and servant, especially since Crier suspects that she was built with a capacity for love that her kind shouldn't have. The plot zooms ahead despite being a setup for the sequel, with nail-biting sexual tension between Crier and Ayla—queerness is unremarkable in this world but cross-species relations are unthinkable. A fresh, suspenseful take on the robot apocalypse. (map, timeline) (Fantasy. 14-18) (Kirkus Reviews, August 1, 2019)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10817352
Cataloging source
TnLvILS
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Varela, Nina
Dewey number
[Fic]
Illustrations
maps
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 9
  • 12
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Plasse, Maxime
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Crier's war
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Household employees
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Revenge
  • Aristocracy (Social class)
  • Kings and rulers
  • Political corruption
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Household employees
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Love
  • Revenge
  • Aristocracy (Social class)
  • Kings, queens, rulers, etc.
  • Political corruption
  • Fantasy
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Crier's war, Nina Varela ; map by Maxime Plasse
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
in901952452
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
429 pages
Isbn
9780062823946
Lccn
2019939425
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
map
System control number
(OCoLC)1080587666
Label
Crier's war, Nina Varela ; map by Maxime Plasse
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
in901952452
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
429 pages
Isbn
9780062823946
Lccn
2019939425
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Other physical details
map
System control number
(OCoLC)1080587666

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • Old Quarry BranchBorrow it
      7051 Village Center Dr., Austin, TX, 78731, US
      30.3529975 -97.7551561
    • Spicewood Springs BranchBorrow it
      8637 Spicewood Springs Rd., Austin, TX, 78759, US
      30.4337083 -97.7730809
    • Twin Oaks BranchBorrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
Processing Feedback ...