Coverart for item
The Resource Cooking for Picasso : a novel, Camille Aubray

Cooking for Picasso : a novel, Camille Aubray

Label
Cooking for Picasso : a novel
Title
Cooking for Picasso
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Camille Aubray
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist's life. The French Riviera, spring 1936: It's off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Cafe Paradis. A mysterious new patron who's slipped out of Paris and is traveling under a different name has made an unusual request--to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he's secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito. Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional life--and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family's authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny. New York, present day: Celine, a Hollywood makeup artist who's come home for the holidays, learns from her mother, Julie, that Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Prompted by her mother's enigmatic stories and the hint of more family secrets yet to be uncovered, Celine carries out Julie's wishes and embarks on a voyage to the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush, heady atmosphere of the Côte d'Azur, and with the help of several eccentric fellow guests attending a rigorous cooking class at her hotel, Celine discovers truths about art, culture, cuisine, and love that enable her to embrace her own future. Featuring an array of both fictional characters and the French Riviera's most famous historical residents, set against the breathtaking scenery of the South of France, Cooking for Picasso is a touching, delectable, and wise story, illuminating the powers of trust, money, art, and creativity in the choices that men and women make, as they seek a path toward love, success, and joie de vivre."--
Summary
A tale inspired by a little-known interlude follows the 1936 culinary affair between a reclusive Picasso at a crossroads in his life and a rebellious teen from the French Riviera, a relationship that shapes the life of the girl's granddaughter in New York more than half a century later
Theme
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10497008
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Aubray, Camille
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Picasso, Pablo
  • Women cooks
  • Cooking
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Picasso, Pablo
  • Cooking
  • Women cooks
  • France
Target audience
adult
Label
Cooking for Picasso : a novel, Camille Aubray
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn990247342
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
Ballantine books Trade paperback edition.
Extent
399 pages
Isbn
9780399177668
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)990247342
Label
Cooking for Picasso : a novel, Camille Aubray
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn990247342
Dimensions
20 cm
Edition
Ballantine books Trade paperback edition.
Extent
399 pages
Isbn
9780399177668
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)990247342

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.271302100000 -97.746016800000
Processing Feedback ...