Coverart for item
The Resource Cherokee America, Margaret Verble

Cherokee America, Margaret Verble

Label
Cherokee America
Title
Cherokee America
Statement of responsibility
Margaret Verble
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"From the author of the Pulitzer Prize finalist Maud's Line, an epic novel that follows a web of complex family alliances and culture clashes in the Cherokee Nation during the aftermath of the Civil War, and the unforgettable woman at its center. It's the early spring of 1875 in the Cherokee Nation West. A baby, a black hired hand, a bay horse, a gun, a gold stash, and a preacher have all gone missing. Cherokee America Singer, known as "Check," a wealthy farmer, mother of five boys, and soon-to-be widow, is not amused. In this epic of the American frontier, several plots intertwine around the heroic and resolute Check: her son is caught in a compromising position that results in murder; a neighbor disappears; another man is killed. The tension mounts and the violence escalates as Check's mixed race family, friends, and neighbors come together to protect their community--and painfully expel one of their own. Cherokee America vividly, and often with humor, explores the bonds--of blood and place, of buried histories and half-told tales, of past grief and present injury--that connect a colorful, eclectic cast of characters, anchored by the clever, determined, and unforgettable Check."--
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Spur Awards, Best Western Traditional Novel, 2020.
  • New York Times Notable Book, 2019
Review
  • Cherokee “Check” America Singer is a middle-aged, half-white, half-Cherokee woman raising her five children as white in the Cherokee Nation West (present-day Oklahoma) in 1875. Heredity and wealth allow this and, augmented by Check’s intelligence, combine to make her a powerful woman. Her network of relatives and relationships includes Cherokee, white, and freed Black people and extends across two states. The novel has many characters with whom Check interacts throughout her day, and there is not a single stereotype among them. Through Check’s eyes, her dozens of friends and neighbors convey a story, a memory, or a dilemma that activates an appropriate or necessary reaction from her—some of which may change lives. Then, in a mystery told in several layers, a girl is kidnapped and a man is killed. Although Check is the last to know what really happened, her courage tells us everything we need to know about this wise woman. This complicated, engrossing story of the post–Civil War West is a prequel to Verble’s Pulitzer Prize finalist, Maud’s Line (2016), but stands on its own. -- Jeanne Greene (Reviewed 2/1/2019) (Booklist, vol 115, number 11, p24)
  • At the heart of Verble’s excellent second novel, following Pulitzer Prize finalist Maud’s Line, is a woman named Cherokee America Singer, aka Check. Check is a Cherokee, prosperous landowner, widow, and mother of five sons struggling to keep her family together amid the conflicts between natives and whites in the Indian Territory (present-day Oklahoma) in 1875. This is a dangerous time for the Cherokee—outlaws are invading their territory, rumors of hidden gold attract unwelcome attention, and a federal judge uses a murder to try to impose federal law on protected Native land. The murder victim is Cherokee and the killers are white, complicating the question of jurisdiction. In an effort to protect Cherokee sovereignty, Check, the townspeople, and the sheriff deceive the investigating U.S. marshals to save an innocent man from arrest. However, when the investigation reaches Check’s doorstep, she must take matters into her own hands to try to save her family. In Verble’s hands, this tale of a mother’s love and her gritty resolve in a shameful era of false promises and broken treaties makes for a rich, propulsive novel. (Feb.) --Staff (Reviewed 12/10/2018) (Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 50, p)
  • /* Starred Review */ In 1875, Cherokee America "Check" Singer is the mother of five sons and the matriarch of a successful family living with the Cherokee Nation in Indian Territory. Check works tirelessly to keep her family's place within the Cherokee Nation during a chaotic time: Check's husband, Andrew, a prominent potato farmer and white abolitionist, is dying, and Andrew's hired hand, an American named Puny, has gone missing after an affair with a local girl. With Puny's disappearance, rumors begin spreading through the Cherokee Nation that there's a stash of gold nearby, and Puny knows the location. A series of intertwined events, crimes, and hearsay brings U.S. Marshals into Indian territory, endangering all Check holds dear. Check, her household, and Cherokee neighbors form a fascinating and unforgettable community. VERDICT Verble, whose novel Maud's Line was a Pulitzer Prize finalist, provides historical context and rich details about the lives and relationships of Cherokees in Indian Territory after the Civil War. Highly recommended for readers of literary historical fiction in the vein of Lalita Tademy's Citizen's Creek and Paulette Jiles's News of the World. [See Prepub Alert, 8/20/18.] --Emily Hamstra (Reviewed 02/01/2019) (Library Journal, vol 144, issue 2, p85)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10756405
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Verble, Margaret
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Cherokee Indians
  • Cherokee women
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Cherokee Indians
  • Cherokee women
Label
Cherokee America, Margaret Verble
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1016644788
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
vii, 385 pages
Isbn
9781328494221
Lccn
2018006352
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1016644788
Label
Cherokee America, Margaret Verble
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1016644788
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
vii, 385 pages
Isbn
9781328494221
Lccn
2018006352
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1016644788

Library Locations

    • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • Twin Oaks BranchBorrow it
      1800 S. Fifth St., Austin, TX, 78704, US
      30.2486884 -97.76239749999999
Processing Feedback ...