The Resource Caged, Ellison Cooper

Caged, Ellison Cooper

Label
Caged
Title
Caged
Statement of responsibility
Ellison Cooper
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Washington D.C. police stumble upon a gruesome murder scene involving a girl who was slowly starved to death while held captive in a cage. When the victim is identified as the daughter of a high profile senator, FBI neuroscientist Sayer Altair is thrust into the spotlight. Now another girl has been taken and is teetering on the brink of death. Sayer races to save the second victim, but soon realizes that they are hunting a killer with a dangerous obsession-- a killer who is closer than she thought. -- adapted from jacket
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Review
  • When the body of a senator’s daughter is discovered, caged, in an abandoned D.C. basement, FBI Special Agent Sayer Altair and her partner, Vik Devereaux, face a cunning murderer who breaks the standard serial-killer mold. Behind a bomb-rigged hatch, the perpetrator has left video footage of Gwendolyn Van Hurst’s captivity, allowing the agents to glimpse a hellish scene: the cage elevated in a smoke-filled room, with images of Mayan mythology projected on the surrounding walls. With the video, investigators find a photograph of the killer’s newest captive. Sayer quickly discovers that the myths are all related to twins and that the smoke was used to deliver a powerful hallucinogen, but her progress toward linking the bizarre modus operandi to a viable suspect is plagued by leaks from her own team and by Senator Van Hurst’s steady stream of press conferences. This debut, first in a trilogy, will have strong appeal for thriller fans drawn to the psychologically complex, character-driven serial-killer hunts of Val McDermid and Jefferey Deaver. -- Tran, Christine (Reviewed 6/1/2018) (Booklist, vol 114, number 19, p41)
  • Cooper leaves no serial killer thriller cliché behind in her debut, starting with a lead burdened with a tragic backstory. FBI special agent Sayer Altair’s parents died in a car crash, and her fiancé, a fellow agent, was killed on duty under mysterious circumstances. Sayer’s research into the brain patterns of murderers is put on hold when the emaciated corpse of Gwendolyn Van Hurst, an ambitious senator’s teenage daughter who went missing a year earlier, is found in a cage in the basement of a Washington, D.C., house. The victim’s captor booby-trapped the building, and more than one investigator is either wounded or killed. The search for the girl’s killer gains urgency after Sayer learns another caged captive may still be alive. Readers should be prepared for melodramatic writing (“As Sayer drifted off to sleep, she vowed to herself that she would find that girl if it was the last thing she did”) and implausible law enforcement decisions (Sayer is content to wait a day for access to vital government records stored in an office closed for the weekend). Hopefully, Cooper will do better next time. Agent: Amy Tannenbaum, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (July) --Staff (Reviewed 05/28/2018) (Publishers Weekly, vol 265, issue 22, p)
  • A teenage girl found starved to death in a medieval torture cage, booby traps set to thwart rescue, a leak inside the investigation. For FBI Special Agent Sayer Altair, nothing in this case makes sense. But as a neuroscientist studying the brains of serial killers, she knows only too well how psychopaths can hide in the skins of normal people. As the pool of potential killers shrinks, Sayer has no idea who she can trust. Snares set by the killer wreak havoc on law enforcement during their pursuit, and casualties quickly multiply. Sayer must think outside the box to separate the real clues from those planted to deceive the team, while also dealing with her own demons—the loneliness she feels after her fiancé's death and her disappointment in her flailing research. VERDICT Forensic mystery fans who enjoy deciphering clues while peeking inside the mind of a killer will be entertained by this pathologically twisted tale by a first-time author. A good choice for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs. [See Prepub Alert, 1/22/18.] --K.L. Romo (Reviewed 04/01/2018) (Library Journal, vol 143, issue 6, p47)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10677129
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cooper, Ellison
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Agent Sayer Altair novels
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Serial murder investigation
  • Women detectives
  • Criminal profilers
  • Young women
  • Criminal profilers
  • Serial murder investigation
  • Women detectives
  • Neuroscientists
  • Washington (D.C.)
Label
Caged, Ellison Cooper
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1962306
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
  • First U.S. edition.
  • First Candian edition.
Extent
358 pages
Isbn
9781250173836
Lccn
2018004438
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781250173836
  • (OCoLC)1001456215
Label
Caged, Ellison Cooper
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1962306
Dimensions
25 cm
Edition
  • First U.S. edition.
  • First Candian edition.
Extent
358 pages
Isbn
9781250173836
Lccn
2018004438
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) i9781250173836
  • (OCoLC)1001456215

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      710 W. Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX, 78701, US
      30.2713021 -97.7460168
    • Howson BranchBorrow it
      2500 Exposition Blvd., Austin, TX, 78703, US
      30.2982508 -97.7675915
    • Milwood BranchBorrow it
      12500 Amherst Dr, Austin, TX, 78727, US
      30.4223444 -97.7161692
    • Manchaca Road BranchBorrow it
      5500 Manchaca Road, Austin, TX, 78745, US
      30.2166039 -97.79733689999999
    • Ruiz BranchBorrow it
      1600 Grove Blvd., Austin, TX, 78741, US
      30.2298616 -97.7070109
    • University Hills BranchBorrow it
      4701 Loyola Ln., Austin, TX, 78723, US
      30.3093017 -97.6664785
Processing Feedback ...